什么是 API 限流?

API 限流是限制用户在一定时间内 API 请求数量的过程。应用程序编程接口 (API) 充当用户和软件应用程序之间的网关。例如,当用户单击社交媒体上的发布按钮时,点击该按钮会触发 API 调用。此 API 与社交媒体应用程序的网络服务器进行交互,并执行发布操作。此用户可以是人,也可以是其他软件应用程序。

API 限流示意图

组织出于各种目标使用 API 限流,例如安全性、可扩展性、性能、货币化、身份验证和可用性。

企业中 API 限流的真实示例

假设某人正在通过 OTA(在线旅行社)网站搜索航班。OTA 网站收集用户的信息,包括出发地,目的地和旅行日期。然后,它使用 API 从诸如 Sabre 或 Amadeus 之类的 GDS(全球分销系统)获取航班信息。

为什么企业需要 API 限流?

API 是组织最大的资产之一。API 可帮助网站或移动应用程序的用户完成任务。随着用户数量的增加,网站或移动应用程序开始出现性能下降的迹象。因此,拥有更好连接或更快界面的用户可能会获得比其他用户更好的体验。API 限流是一种巧妙的解决方案,可帮助组织确保其 API 的合理使用。

API 限流还有助于抵御拒绝服务 (DoS) 攻击,在 DoS 攻击中,恶意用户发送大量请求以使网站或移动应用程序崩溃。随着在线用户数量的增加,企业需要实施 API 限流机制,以确保公平使用、数据安全并防止恶意攻击。

API 限流的工作原理

虽然 API 限流有多种算法,但以下是所有 API 限流算法的基本步骤:

  1. 客户端/用户调用与网络服务或应用程序交互的 API。
  2. API 限流逻辑会检查当前请求是否超过允许的 API 调用次数。
  3. 如果请求在限制范围内,API 将照常执行并完成用户的任务。
  4. 如果请求超出限制,API 会向用户返回错误响应。
  5. 用户必须等待预先约定的时间段,或者付费才能进行更多的 API 调用。
API 限流成功指南
API 产品经理的权威成功指南
通过 7 部分成功指南了解公司如何创建 API 程序以发展数字业务,充分发挥 API 的强大性能!

有哪些主要的 API 限流算法?

漏桶 API 限流算法

该算法使用先进先出 (FIFO) 队列来保存传入的请求。队列会有特定大小。当收到新的 API 调用/请求时,将其添加到队列的末尾。每隔一段时间,该算法会从队列前面删除请求并对其进行处理。如果队列已满时出现新请求,则该请求将被丢弃。该算法与令牌桶算法密切相关。

漏桶的优点

  • 易于实施
  • 以固定的速率处理请求。即使请求激增,系统也不会过载。从某种意义上说,漏桶算法可以在出现不稳定的输入流时使输出流趋于平滑。

漏桶的缺点

  • 由于漏桶算法使用先进先出队列,因此存在请求不足的可能性。这意味着当队列已满并且请求需要更多时间处理时,较新的请求可能会被丢弃。出现此问题的原因是处理请求的顺序。

固定窗口 API 限流算法

固定窗口允许用户在特定时间段内进行 N 次 API 调用。例如,固定窗口算法允许每分钟两个请求。时间范围被划分为固定段,每段持续一分钟。一分钟开始时,计数器被设置为零。随着每个用户的请求,计数器都会增加。如果计数器在时间窗口结束之前达到上限,则新请求将被拒绝。每分钟开始时,计数器将重置为零。

在固定窗口算法的典型实现中,每个用户都有一个唯一的密钥和一个与密钥关联的计数器。在固定时间窗口开始时,计数器被重置。

固定窗口的优势

  • 与漏桶算法不同,固定窗口算法不会导致新请求不足,因为计数器在每个时间窗开始时都会重置。

固定窗口的缺点

  • 在时间窗口开始时,用户请求可能会激增。例如,如果有 1000 个请求/小时的限制,则所有 1000 个请求都可能在窗口的第一分钟发出。这可能会使系统不堪重负。

滑动窗口 API 限流算法

此算法通过在发出请求时启动时间窗来解决固定窗口算法的请求突发问题。例如,它假定系统每分钟只允许用户发出两个请求。与固定窗口不同,时间窗口仅在用户实际发出第一个请求时才启动。第一个请求的时间戳用计数器保存,允许用户在这一分钟内再发出一个请求。

滑动窗口算法的优势

滑动窗口算法结合了漏桶和固定窗口算法的优点。它消除了其他两种算法的问题。在滑动窗口中,较新的请求不会出现不足。与固定窗口不同,请求的激增不会使系统不堪重负。

API 限流有什么好处?

API 限流是所有通过 API 公开其服务的组织必不可少的技术。

性能

API 限流通过限制 API 的过量使用来防止系统性能下降。如果应用程序拥有数百万用户,则系统每秒可能会收到大量的 API 请求。为所有这些 API 请求提供服务将减慢系统速度并影响其性能。API 限流可确保每个用户都能获得服务水平协议 (SLA) 中保证的性能。

安全性

API 限流系统充当 API 的网关。它有助于防止拒绝服务 (DoS) 攻击。在 DoS 中,攻击者发出大量服务请求,使合法用户无法使用该服务。通过限制服务请求的总数,API 限流有助于防止 DoS 攻击。

减少意外/恶意使用

如果 API 由于技术故障而泄露敏感信息,则 APO 限制将限制用户通过受损的 API 获得未经授权的数据访问。

计量和货币化

API 是组织最大的资产之一。通过 API 使用货币化带来了很大的利润。API 限流可帮助组织衡量其 API 的使用情况。例如,网络服务每小时可能提供 1000 次免费 API 调用,但如果用户每小时需要更多请求,则必须为此付费。

身份验证

API 限流不一定只限制调用次数。根据用户的访问权限,API 限流逻辑将允许他们访问 API 的选定部分。例如,根据请求者的权限,一些用户或许可以查找其他用户,而其他用户或许可以通过 API 编辑用户的详细信息。

API 限流免费试用
尝试 TIBCO Cloud Integration - 免费试用
让 TIBCO 云集成通过更方便快捷的 API 主导式集成为您的企业提供强劲支持。以集成方式实现简化。

API 限流的挑战是什么?

在分布式系统中实施 API 限流是一项具有挑战性的任务。当应用或服务在全球范围内有多台服务器时,应对分布式系统进行限流。来自同一用户的连续请求可以转发到不同的服务器。API 限流逻辑驻留在每个节点上,需要彼此实时同步。这可能会导致不一致和竞态条件。

在下面的示例中,用户已经用完了每秒五个请求限制中的四个请求。假设用户在同一秒再发出两个请求。这两个请求将发送到两台不同的服务器。速率限制器从数据库中检索当前计数器并看到计数=4;它允许调用。同时,第二个速率限制器还会从数据库中提取数据并看到计数=4。之所以发生这种情况,是因为第二个速率限制器在第一个速率限制器更新计数之前从公共数据库中提取数据。因此,两个请求都得到服务,用户就每秒获得 6 个请求。

解决方案:API 限流系统采用多种解决方案来解决不一致和竞态条件。在分布式系统中实施 API 限流的一种方法是使用粘性会话。在此方法中,来自用户的所有请求始终由特定服务器提供服务。但是,此解决方案是不均衡或容错的。

分布式系统中 API 限流的第二种解决方案是锁定。在上面的例子中,当第一个速率限制器访问数据库时,它会锁定计数。在解锁计数之前,第二个速率限制器将无法访问计数。当计数器更新为五时,第一个速率限制器会解锁计数。另一种流行的解决方案是放宽速率限制。此解决方案允许每秒一定比例的额外请求。

What is API Throttling?

API throttling is the process of limiting the number of API requests a user can make in a certain period. An application programming interface (API) functions as a gateway between a user and a software application. For example, when a user clicks the post button on social media, the button click triggers an API call. This API interacts with the web server of the social media application and performs the action of posting. This user could be a human or another software application.

API Throttling Diagram

Organizations use API throttling with various goals, such as security, scalability, performance, monetization, authentication, and availability.

A Real-Life Example of API Throttling in Business

Assume that a person is searching for a flight through an OTA (online travel agency)site. The OTA website collects information from the user including origin, destination, and date of travel. Then it uses APIs to fetch the flight information from the GDS (Global Distribution system) like Sabre or Amadeus.

Why do Businesses Need API Throttling?

APIs are one of the biggest assets of organizations. APIs help the users of a website or mobile applications fulfil their tasks. As the number of users increases, the websites or the mobile application starts showing the signs of performance degradation. As a result, users with better connections or faster interfaces might get a better experience than others. API throttling is an elegant solution that helps organizations to ensure fair use of their APIs.

API throttling also helps to fight back denial of service (DoS) attack, where a malicious user sends enormous volumes of requests to bring down a website or a mobile application. As the number of online users increases, businesses need to implement API throttling mechanisms to ensure fair usage, data security, and prevent malicious attacks.

How Does API Throttling Work?

While there are various algorithms for API throttling, here are the basic steps in any API throttling algorithm:

  1. A client/user calls an API that interfaces with a web service or application.
  2. The API throttling logic checks if the current request exceeds the allowed number of API calls.
  3. If the request is within limits, the API performs as usual and completes the user’s task.
  4. If the request exceeds the limit, the API returns an error response to the user.
  5. The user will have to wait for a pre-agreed time period, or pay to make any more API calls.
Success Guide for API Throttling
The Definitive Success Guide for the API Product Manager
Harness the power of APIs with 7-part success guide on how companies can create API programs to grow digital business!

What Are the Major API Throttling Algorithms?

Leaky Bucket API Throttling Algorithm

This algorithm uses a first-in, first-out (FIFO) queue to hold the incoming requests. The queue will have a specific size. When a new API call/ request is received, it is added to the end of the queue. At regular intervals, this algorithm removes a request from the front of the queue and processes it. If a new request comes when the queue is already full, the request is discarded. This algorithm is closely related to the token bucket algorithm.

Advantages of Leaky Bucket

  • Easy to implement
  • Processes requests at a constant rate. Even if there is a burst in requests, the system isn’t overloaded. In a way, the leaky bucket algorithm smoothes out the output flow when there is an uneasy input flow.

Disadvantages of Leaky Bucket

  • As the leaky bucket algorithm uses a FIFO queue, there is a chance of starvation. It means that when a queue is full and when a request takes more time to process, the newer requests may get discarded. This problem arises due to the order in which the requests are processed.

Fixed Window API Throttling Algorithm

The fixed window allows N number of API calls from a user in a particular period. For example, a fixed window algorithm allows two requests per minute. The time frame is divided into fixed frames, each of a minute duration. At the starting of a minute, a counter is set to zero. With every user request, the counter increases. If the counter reaches the upper limit before the time window ends, new requests are rejected. At the beginning of every minute, the counter resets to zero.

In a typical implementation of a fixed window algorithm, each user will have a unique key and a counter associated with the key. At the beginning of the fixed time window, the counter is reset.

Advantage of Fixed Window

  • Unlike the leaky bucket algorithm, a fixed window algorithm will not lead to the starvation of new requests as the counter resets at the beginning of every time window.

Disadvantage of Fixed Window

  • At the beginning of the time window, there could be a burst in the user requests. For example, if there is a 1000 request/hour limit, all the 1000 requests might be made at the first minute of the window. This might overwhelm the system.

Sliding Window API Throttling Algorithm

This algorithm solves the request-burst issues with the fixed window algorithm by starting the time window when a request is made. For instance, it assumes that the system only allows two requests per minute for the user. Unlike the fixed window, the time window starts only when a user actually makes the first request. The timestamp of the first request is saved with a counter, and the user is allowed to make one more request within that minute.

Advantages of Sliding Window Algorithm

The sliding window algorithm combines the advantages of the leaky bucket and fixed window algorithm. It eliminates the issues with both the other algorithms. In the sliding window, newer requests don’t starve. Unlike the fixed window, the burst of requests doesn’t overwhelm the system.

What Are the Benefits of API Throttling?

API throttling is a technique essential to all organizations that expose their services through APIs.

Performance

API throttling prevents the degradation of system performance by limiting the excess usage of an API. If an application has millions of users, a system might get a huge number of API requests per second. Servicing all those API requests will slow down the system and affect its performance. API throttling ensures that every user receives the performance ensured in the service level agreement (SLA).

Security

An API throttling system acts as a gateway to an API. It helps to prevent the denial of service (DoS) attacks. In DoS, an attacker issues a massive number of service requests so that the service becomes unavailable to the legitimate users. By limiting the total number of service requests, API throttling helps to prevent DoS attacks.

Reduce Unintended/Malicious Use

In case an API gives out sensitive information due to a technical glitch, APO throttling will limit users getting unauthorized access to data through the compromised API.

Metering and Monetization

APIs are one of the biggest assets of organizations. Monetizing the API usage contributes a significant share to their profit. API throttling helps organizations to meter the usage of their APIs. For example, a web service may offer 1000 free API calls per hour, but if users need more requests per hour, they have to pay for it.

Authentication

API throttling does not necessarily only limit the number of calls. Depending on the access privilege of a user, API throttling logic will allow them access to the selected parts of the API. For example, based on the authority of the requester, some users may be able to look up other users, and others might be able to edit details of users through the API.

API Throttling Free Trial
Try TIBCO Cloud Mashery - Free Trial
TIBCO Cloud Mashery is our market-leading, cloud-native API platform you can deploy anywhere, for the freedom to manage APIs from everywhere.

What Are the Challenges of API Throttling?

Implementing API throttling in a distributed system is a challenging task. When the app or service has multiple servers worldwide, the throttling should be applied for the distributed system. The consecutive requests from the same user could be forwarded to different servers. The API throttling logic resides on each node and needs to synchronize with each other in real-time. It could lead to inconsistency and race conditions.

In the below example, the user has already used up four requests out of the five requests per second limit. Assume the user issues two more requests at the same second. They go to two different servers. The rate limiter retrieves the current counter from the database and sees count=4; it allows the call. At the same time, the second rate limiter also pulls the data from the database and sees the count=4. It happens because the second rate limiter pulls the data from a common database before the first rate limiter updates the count. Hence, both the requests are serviced, and the user gets 6 requests/second.

Solutions: API throttling systems employ multiple solutions to inconsistency and race conditions. One way to implement API throttling in distributed systems is to use sticky sessions. In this method, all requests from a user are always serviced by a particular server. However, this solution is not well-balanced or fault tolerant.

The second solution to API throttling in distributed systems are locks. In the above example, when the first rate limiter accesses the database, it locks the count. Until it unlocks the count, the second rate limiter will not be able to access the count. The first rate limiter unlocks the count when the counter is updated to five. Another popular solution is relaxing the rate limit. This solution allows a certain percentage of extra requests per second.