商業詞彙是什麼?

商業詞彙是一份業務術語及其定義的列表,組織用它來確保在分析資料時,全公司均使用相同的定義。商業詞彙會形成通用的業務用語,供組織中的每個人使用。統一且通用的語言是資料治理的關鍵要素,讓大家對於關鍵業務概念、術語及它們之間的關係具有一致理解,確保組織內所有人可以感知和正確管理他們的資料。

商業詞彙範例

商業詞彙是資料治理的重要一環,如果沒有商業詞彙,您就無法確定公司中的每個人說的是同一種語言。例如,某部門可能將術語「客戶」定義為公司,另一個部門則將同一個術語「客戶」定義為個人。為了防止這種差異,商業詞彙能為全公司所用的每個業務術語提供一個明確定義。這除了確保企業能夠信任他們的資料、防止報告中出現錯誤資訊,甚至可以幫助避免計算錯誤和潛在的錯誤分析。

每個商業詞彙均含有中繼資料,用以指定資料的意義或語境。這通常是衍生自資料治理計畫的產物,主要由業務部門控制,而非 IT 部門。

商業詞彙可促進資料在整個組織內的可見度、語境、控制和合作。針對法規遵循和資料治理計畫,商業詞彙可以打破組織性和技術性的溝通壁壘,協助整合員工,讓他們根據一致的資料交流來瞭解其他部門的想法,增加部門之間的信任。

商業詞彙是一份列表,列出術語、縮寫、核准標準、優先程度和同義字。這份列表不限任何格式,都會將所有資料對應至一份中央資料目錄。以便使用者能夠輕鬆找到所需的資料。因為它有助於瞭解誰正在使用該資料,並確保使用者遵守各項標準,所以也有助於治理。

商業詞彙與資料字典

「商業詞彙」一詞經常與「資料字典」混淆,但它們的用途是截然不同的。商業詞彙用來定義業務術語的實際含義,其使用對象是針對商業受眾,用以確保整個組織在適當的語境下使用正確的術語。然而,資料字典是用來定義和描述資料集與欄位的屬性,這對技術人員管理資料來說最有用。

資料字典側重於具體資料資產,而商業詞彙側重於業務術語和概念。資料字典通常由資料集列表(通常為表格形式)及欄位(通常為資料欄)組成,而商業詞彙則包含業務術語及定義的列表。資料字典的目標是清楚表示資料資產和資料庫,商業詞彙則提供共用詞彙表做為對基本業務概念的理解基礎。

由於資料字典本質上更具技術性,所以通常由 IT 部門構建和擁有,而商業詞彙則一般由業務部門負責。一個組織的每個資料來源都可以有各自的資料字典,但整個組織只能使用一個商業詞彙。資料字典一般用於記錄資料來源、資料建模、設計資料庫,商業詞彙則用於資料治理和需求分析。

但是,這兩者彼此相輔相成,用以描述資料的各個方面,以便公司全面掌握他們的資料。

資料虛擬化使用案例
現代化您的數據和分析架構
查看這 13 個用例,以了解怎樣支援當今複雜的數據和分析環境。

商業詞彙的好處

在現今複雜的環境中,商業詞彙需要經常更新,以確保組織內每個人之間溝通一致。這也有助於確保每個人是以相同的方式來查看和使用資料,讓整個組織得以建立一套必要的標準。而且,由於組織越來越難以理解和適當地管理全部資料,所以良好的商業詞彙管理,是確保每個人使用相同資訊的最佳方法之一。除此之外,商業詞彙還有其他好處:

建立術語之間的關係,以加快資料搜尋

商業詞彙的最大好處之一,是它定義了業務術語之間的關係,讓使用者更容易搜尋術語。完善的商業詞彙除了可提供術語的定義和範例,並會展示術語之間的關係。它可以連結所有與該術語相關的其他具體內容,包括 KPI、程序、資料庫和系統、資料擁有者、管理員等。只有當您可以判斷業務術語與這些其他資料來源之間的關係時,業務術語才能真正發揮效用,而商業詞彙可以串聯技術單位和業務單位所用的業務術語。

增進合作

由於商業詞彙為整個組織中的每個人提供相同的術語定義,因此部門之間可以更有效地溝通。如果您問一個組織內的兩個人「bi-weekly」是什麼意思,你很可能會得到「兩週一次」或「一週兩次」兩個不同答案。有了商業詞彙,員工就不需要猜測或反覆解釋他們想要表達的意思,而是可以參考一個中心定義,從而節省每個人的時間。商業詞彙有助於消弭各部門之間的差異,尤其是業務和 IT 部門之間。特別是在連接資料字典時,商業詞彙由於會納入與業務術語和關聯資料鏈有關的底層中繼資料,因而能使技術使用者更容易匹配相關的中繼資料。

定義資料治理角色

商業詞彙可支援合作工作流程的管理和核准程序,為具有既定資料治理角色和職責的事件關係人提供可見度,避免業務和跨功能團隊各自為政。當他們獨自工作時,他們會傾向於根據自己的知識來定義業務術語,這通常不符合標準策略和最佳實務做法,此時商業詞彙便能讓整個企業一致地使用這些術語。

為了正確建立和維護商業詞彙,應將所有與建立商業詞彙有關的各項任務角色(建立、編輯、核准和發佈商業詞彙內容)分配給業務使用者,如此可確保商業詞彙中的所有項目和過程中涉及的所有人員,都具有端對端的可追溯性和可歸責性。同樣重要的是,必須根據組織需求,定期審校和重新發佈商業詞彙,以確保它保持最新狀態並與當前業務緊密相關。以明確程序及時更新並遵守嚴格標準的商業詞彙,將能有效提高全公司的資料可信度。

O'Reilly 報告:建立整合的數據基礎設施
O'Reilly 報告:建立整合的數據基礎設施
只有三分之一的企業已發展成為數據驅動的機構。解決辦法是什麼?在這電子書尋找答案!

建立可衡量的資料品質

商業詞彙可在整個組織內提供一致的交流、理解和處理基礎,我們建議組織以文件記下如何定義、輸入、修改和發佈術語的標準。一個組織應該只使用單一文件,來標準化整個公司建立有品質的定義的方法。例如,這類標准文件可能包括多項規則,像是下定義時不能使用出現在所定義詞彙標題中的任何字詞、定義中不能包含首字母縮寫或簡稱、定義必須是敘述性說明、等等,所有這些規則都有助於增進資料的清晰度和一致性。

對商業詞彙進行妥善治理,可提供資料品質衡量指標。一旦建立並遵守該品質要求,您就可以開始透過人們存取商業詞彙的頻率(存取次數越少,代表定義得越好)、減少使用同義詞的次數、避免誤解的次數等數據,來測試您的資料品質。當有問題出現時,就很容易找出問題所在,並加以補救。

商業詞彙可以防止溝通不良,將組織中的各個部門統整起來,提供透明度,並確保在公司範圍內,所有資料和業務術語都是準確且易於理解的。它也是培訓新員工的好用工具,採用最佳實務做法來定義和分類術語,即可使您的資料更具可信度和可查找性,讓使用者輕鬆獲得清晰認知。

What is a Business Glossary?

A business glossary is a list of business terms and their definitions that organizations use to ensure the same definitions are used company-wide when analyzing data. A business glossary produces a common business vocabulary, used by everyone in an organization. A unified, common language is a key component of data governance. Having an agreed-upon understanding of key business concepts, terms, and the relationships between them ensures that organizations make sense of their data and properly govern it.

Business Glossary Example

A business glossary is an important part of data governance. Without it, you cannot be certain that everyone in a company is speaking the same language. For instance, one department may define the term “customer” as a company while another department may refer to the term customer as an individual. A business glossary prevents this discrepancy by providing one definition for each business term used company-wide. It ensures that businesses can trust their data and prevents incorrect information on reports. It can even help avoid miscalculations and potentially erroneous analytics.

A business glossary contains metadata that assigns meaning or semantic context to data. A business glossary is usually an artifact produced by a data governance initiative and is most often controlled by the business rather than IT.

A business glossary promotes data visibility, context, control, and collaboration across an organization. For regulatory compliance and data governance initiatives, it can break down organizational and technical silos. A business glossary can also unify employees because they can understand how other departments are thinking based on consistent data exchange. This increases trust between departments.

A business glossary that lists relationships between terms, acronyms, approved standards, prioritization, and synonyms maps all the data, no matter what format it is in, to a central catalog of data. This helps users know where data is so they can easily find it. It’s also beneficial for governance purposes as it helps you to understand who is using the data and ensure they are adhering to standards.

Business Glossary vs Data Dictionary

The term business glossary often gets confused with data dictionary, but they have very different uses. A business glossary is aimed at a business audience. It defines what business terms actually mean to ensure that the correct terms are used in the proper context throughout an organization. Meanwhile, a data dictionary is most useful for technical employees to manage data. It defines and describes the attributes of data sets and their fields.

A data dictionary focuses on physical data assets while a business glossary’s focus is business terms and concepts. A data dictionary usually consists of a list of datasets (typically in the form of tables) and their fields (usually representing the columns) while a business glossary contains a list of business terms and their definitions. The goal of a data dictionary is to clearly understand data assets and databases while a business glossary provides a common vocabulary and understanding of basic business concepts.

Since it is more technical in nature, a data dictionary is typically built and owned by the IT department while the business tends to own the business glossary. An organization can have one data dictionary per data source, whereas they will only have one business glossary used throughout the entire organization. Data dictionaries are generally used to document data sources, model data, and design databases while business glossaries are used for data governance and requirements analysis.

But, the two work together to describe different aspects of data so companies can get a complete view of their data.

Looking for Guidance on How to Design a Successful Data Strategy?
Looking for Guidance on How to Design a Successful Data Strategy?
Look no further! Download this MIT Technology Review Insights Report to get started.

Benefits of a Business Glossary

Having a frequently updated business glossary is a necessity in today’s complex environment. It ensures consistent communication between everyone in an organization. It also makes sure that everyone is viewing and using the data in the same way. It creates a necessary standard across an organization. And, since it’s becoming increasingly harder for organizations to make sense out of data and govern it properly, a well-managed business glossary is one of the best ways to ensure that everyone is working with the same information. Other benefits include:

Establishes relationships between terms for quicker searching of data

One of the biggest benefits of a business glossary is that it defines the relationships between business terms and makes it easier for users to search for terms. A comprehensive business glossary will define terms, provide examples, show how terms relate to one another; it will link to all of the other artifacts associated with that term including KPIs, processes, databases and systems, data owners, and stewards. Business terms are only useful when you can relate them to these other data sources. A business glossary will also link business terms between technical and business entities.

Enables collaboration

Since a business glossary gives everyone the same definition of terms to use throughout an organization, departments can communicate more effectively. If you ask two different people from one organization what bi-weekly means, you will most likely get two different answers. With a business dictionary, employees no longer have to guess or repeatedly explain what they mean and can refer to one central location, saving everyone time. A business glossary helps bridge the gaps between departments, particularly between the business and IT. Especially when linked to a data dictionary, a business glossary will also include the underlying metadata associated with business terms and the associated data lineage—making it easier for technical audiences to match associated metadata.

Defines data governance roles

A business glossary enables collaborative workflow management and approval processes, giving stakeholders—with established data governance roles and responsibilities—visibility. A business glossary prevents the business and cross-functional teams from working in silos where they tend to define business terms according to their own knowledge and often don’t follow standard policies and best practices. It also gives the entire business access to the terms.

To properly build and maintain a business glossary, business users should be assigned roles for all of the various tasks associated with building: creating, editing, approving, and publishing business glossary content. This ensures end-to-end traceability and accountability of items in the business glossary and people involved in the processes. Again, it’s important to revise and republish a business glossary on a regular basis based on the needs of your organization to ensure that it remains up to date and relevant to the business. A business glossary updated with clear processes and adheres to strict standards will improve the trust of data company-wide.

O'Reilly Report: Building a Unified Data Infrastructure
O'Reilly Report: Building a Unified Data Infrastructure
Only a third of businesses have evolved into data-driven organizations. What's the solution? Find out in this eBook!

Establishes measurable quality of your data

A business glossary provides consistency exchange, understanding, and processing throughout the organization. It is recommended that organizations document a standard for how to define, enter, revise, and publish terms. An organization should use a document that standardizes how a quality definition is created throughout the company. A few examples of a standards document could include rules such as definitions can not use any of the words found in the title of the term being defined; a definition cannot include acronyms or abbreviations; the definition must be descriptive; and so forth. All of this leads to clarity and consistency in the data.

The proper governance of a business glossary provides quality measurement of your data. Once the quality has been established and is followed, you can begin to test the quality of your data by how often people have to access the business dictionary (the less they access, the better the definitions are), fewer uses of synonyms, and reduction in misunderstandings. When issues arise, it will be easy to source where the problem lies and remedy them.

A business glossary can prevent poor communication and unify the departments in your organization. A business glossary offers transparency and ensures that data and business terms are accurate and understood companywide. It’s also a useful tool for training new employees. Best practices for how to define terms and how they are classified builds trust and findability in your data and clarity for users.