什么是内存中数据库?

内存中数据库将组织或个人的所有数据存储在计算机的主内存中。

数据分析速度在内存中数据库上快于使用辅助存储设备的传统数据库。这些辅助存储设备包括硬盘或固态设备。计算机的中央处理器 (CPU) 只能直接访问存储在主存储器中的数据。因此,计算机在主存储器中读取/写入数据的速度比辅助存储器中的数据快得多。这使得内存中数据库的速度非常快。

内存中数据库图

组织将内存中数据库用于需要高速数据库操作的应用程序。广告位的实时竞价就使用了内存中数据库。在实时广告竞价中,竞价平台会在用户加载网页的同时放置一个广告位进行拍卖。实时竞价平台从多个投标者那里收集报价数据,基于几条规则选择中标,并显示中标者的广告。所有这些都必须在网页加载的几毫秒内发生。内存中数据库可帮助实时竞价平台在几毫秒的延迟内执行所有这些数据操作。

为什么组织需要内存中数据库?

随着物联网 (IoT) 的出现和基于云的解决方案的发展,组织需要实时处理数据。健康和安全监视器等数百万台设备每秒都会生成数据。实时分析这些数据至关重要。组织需要高性能的数据库解决方案来处理其实时数据。内存中数据库还可以通过加快数据库操作来帮助组织提高生产效率。它还可以帮助他们利用大数据的优势。如果组织需要以下其中一项,则应考虑采用内存中数据库:

  • 组织需要利用大数据的实时优势。
  • 组织定期收集数据,并需要快速访问。
  • 数据持久性对组织来说不是大问题。
O'Reilly 报告:构建统一的数据基础架构
O'Reilly 报告:构建统一的数据基础架构
只有三分之一的企业发展成为数据驱动型组织。解决方案是什么?在这本电子书中找到答案!

内存中数据库与磁盘数据库

  • 与传统的磁盘数据库相比,内存中数据库的读取/写入速度更快。在传统数据库中,每个数据库操作都需要从磁盘写入/读取,这涉及到输入/输出 (IO) 操作。这个额外的过程减慢了磁盘数据库的速度。
  • 与内存数据库中的数据相比,传统的磁盘数据库中的数据是永久性的。内存中数据库使用的主内存是易失性的。如果系统出现故障,数据可能会丢失。内存中数据库采用了各种技术来克服数据波动问题。
  • 在传统数据库中,用于存储数据的结构很复杂。这是为了确保能够有效通过磁盘进行数据访问。通常,随机访问辅助存储设备要花很长时间。传统数据库采用了各种数据结构(如 B-Tree)来克服此问题。而内存数据库的存储结构就很简单,因为从主内存中随机访问数据非常高效。
  • 传统的磁盘数据库只能在具有辅助存储设备的系统中运行。许多嵌入式设备不支持辅助存储。内存中数据库可以在这些嵌入式设备的主内存上高效运行。在物联网领域工作的组织通常会因为此功能而选择内存数据库。
  • 内存数据库更适合数据要求较低的应用程序。尽管内存容量有了显著增加,但仍局限于数千兆字节。在传统的磁盘数据库中,就没有这样的限制。它们可以对容量多达几 TB 的数据进行操作。

内存中数据库如何确保数据持久性?

保证 ACID 属性是每个数据库的先决条件:

  • 原子性
  • 一致性
  • 隔离性
  • 持久性

虽然内存中数据库保证前三个属性,但还需要采取其他步骤来确保持久性。此属性规定,即使系统或电源出现故障,所有数据也应保持不变。内存数据库基于易失性主内存。易失性存储器的设计方式是,如果系统关机,所有数据都将丢失。内存中数据库采用了各种技术来确保在断电或系统故障后数据不会被删除。

快照

内存中数据库创建数据库的定期快照并将其存储在磁盘驱动器(非易失性)中。此数据库快照是整个数据库在特定时间点的副本。虽然定期创建快照是保留数据的一种方法,但它可能无法确保持久性。保存快照后,总是有可能出现系统故障。创建快照之后的所有更改都将丢失。

事务日志记录

在此方法中,内存中数据库记录对数据库所做的每一次修改。这些事务日志将包含每个插入和修改操作的详细信息。它存储在非易失性文件中,该文件可用于在发生故障时恢复数据库。在每分钟执行数千次操作的数据库中,事务日志记录会增加系统的性能和存储容量开销。大多数内存数据库都会保留事务日志,在创建快照后就将其丢弃。

非易失性随机存取存储器 (NVRAM)

确保数据持久性的另一种方法是使用非易失性随机存取存储器。即使关闭电源,NVRAM 仍会保留数据。NVRAM 是一种常用的解决方案,内存中数据库用其来实现数据持久性。内存中数据库使用电池供电的静态内存或电可擦除可编程只读存储器 (EEPROM)。

了解用于治理、管理和使用所有共享数据资产的单一解决方案
了解用于治理、管理和使用所有共享数据资产的单一解决方案
通过一体化方法来管理整个企业的数据资产,避免孤岛。

内存中数据库的基本功能

随着实时应用程序的增加,对内存中数据库的需求也随之增加。市场上有多种内存中数据库。有时很难选择完美的内存中数据库解决方案。内存中数据库应具备以下基本功能才能在当前各市场方案中发挥作用。

云迁移就绪

大多数组织都开始转向云端,并青睐软件即服务 (SAAS) 业务模式。内存中数据库还需要能够支持云模式。这意味着内存中数据库应作为数据库即服务提供。借助数据库即服务,开发人员和用户可以按需使用共享的数据库资源池。一旦完成后,数据库资源将返回到资源池。云就绪型内存中数据库快速、可扩展且灵活。

物联网就绪

如果组织想要开拓物联网市场,就需要一个专门支持物联网市场的实时数据库。物联网包括数百个持续发送实时数据的传感器(如健康和安全监视器)。内存中数据库应该可以处理全球各地众多传感器发送的数百万条消息。内存中数据库应能非常快速地存储和检索这些数据,以便分析能够快速得出决策。

符合 ACID 标准

每个数据库都应满足原子性、一致性、隔离性和持久性的要求。这些功能对于数据完整性至关重要。从业务角度来看,拥有一个符合 ACID 属性的数据库将有助于组织做出正确的决策。使用不具备 ACID 属性的内存中数据库的专有实施方案可能会导致数据不准确和决策错误。请务必慎重选择。

内存中数据库的优势是什么?

性能

内存中数据库将数据存储在计算机的主内存中,处理器可以直接访问这些内存。内存中数据库的读写操作比传统的磁盘数据库快得多。

简单

传统数据库的存储要求很复杂,因为它们需要优化辅助存储设备上的读取/写入操作。这包括将数据存储在连续磁盘块上的逻辑,检索因此很方便。而使用内存中数据库,随机访问非常高效。因此,存储内存中数据库的数据结构非常简单。

在嵌入式系统中使用

内存中数据库不需要辅助存储设备。在当前流动性很高的情况下,这一特性非常有用。游戏机或智能电视等嵌入式设备无法提供辅助存储设备。因此,它们可以使用内存中数据库。现今物联网已经变得非常流行,但却无法使用辅助存储设备,因此这一特性非常重要。

内存中数据库的缺点是什么?

数据持久性

尽管随机存取内存有助于高速数据操作,但内存中数据库很容易丢失数据。内存中数据库中的数据只是临时存储的。如果系统崩溃,就有可能丢失数据。

解决方案:我们在前面的章节中已经了解了内存中数据库如何使用不同的技术(如快照、事务日志和非易失性随机存取内存)来解决数据持久性问题。

数据容量

由于计算机的随机存取内存容量有限(通常以千兆字节为单位),因此内存中数据库可能无法处理海量数据需求。

解决方案:此问题有多种解决方案。通过网格连接多台计算机以增加主内存的容量是解决容量问题的一种方法。此外,对于多核计算机,我们可以扩展随机存取内存的大小。

What is an In-Memory Database?

An in-memory database stores all an organization or individual’s data in the main memory of a computer.

Data analysis on the in-memory database is fast compared to traditional databases, which use secondary storage devices. These secondary storage devices include a hard disk or solid-state devices. The central processing unit (CPU) of a computer has direct access only to the data stored in the main memory. Therefore, a computer can read/write data in the main memory much faster than the data in the secondary storage device. That makes the in-memory databases incredibly fast.

in-memory database diagram

Organizations use an in-memory database for applications that demand high-speed database operations. Real-time bidding for advertisement spots uses an in-memory database. In real-time ad bidding, a bidding platform puts up an advertisement spot for auction while the user is loading a web page. The real-time bidding platform collects the bid data from several bidders, selects a winning bid based on several rules, and displays the advertisement of the winning bidder. All these have to happen within milliseconds while the web page loads. An in-memory database helps the real-time bidding platform to perform all these data operations within milliseconds’ latency.

Why Do Organizations Need an In-Memory Database?

With the advent of the Internet of Things (IoT) and the growth of cloud-based solutions, organizations need to process data in real-time. Millions of devices like health and security monitors generate data every second. It is crucial to analyze this data in real-time. Organizations need high-performing database solutions to process their real-time data. In-memory databases also help organizations to improve their productivity by speeding up their database operations. It also helps them to leverage the benefits of big data. If an organization needs one of the following, it should consider adopting an in-memory database:

  • The organization needs to leverage the real-time advantages of big data.
  • The organization collects data regularly and needs fast access.
  • Data persistence isn’t a big issue for the organization.
O'Reilly Report: Building a Unified Data Infrastructure
O'Reilly Report: Building a Unified Data Infrastructure
Only a third of businesses have evolved into data-driven organizations. What's the solution? Find out in this eBook!

In-Memory Database Vs. Disk-based Database

  • An in-memory database allows faster reads/writes compared to a traditional, disk-based database. In traditional databases, each database operation requires to write/read from the disk, which involves an input/output (IO) operation. This extra process slows down the disk-based databases.
  • Data in the traditional disk-based databases are persistent compared to the data in the in-memory database. The main memory used in the in-memory database is volatile. The data may be lost in the case of a system failure. In-memory databases use various techniques to overcome the issue of data volatility.
  • In traditional databases, structures used for the storage of data are complex. This is to ensure the data access from the disk is efficient. Usually, random access of the secondary storage devices takes a long time. Traditional databases use various data structures like B-Trees to overcome this. In the case of in-memory databases, the storage structures are simple as the random access of data from the main memory is highly efficient.
  • Traditional disk-based databases can only run in systems with a secondary storage device. Many embedded devices don’t support secondary storage. In-memory databases can run efficiently on the main memory of these embedded devices. Organizations that work within the internet of things sector often choose in-memory databases due to this feature.
  • In-memory databases are more suitable for applications with low data requirements. Even though there has been a significant increase in the RAM size, it is still in the multi-gigabyte range. In traditional disk-based databases, there is no such restriction. They can operate on multi-terabyte data size.

How Does an In-memory Database Ensure Data Durability?

It is a prerequisite for every database to guarantee the ACID properties:

  • Atomicity
  • Consistency
  • Isolation
  • Durability

While in-memory databases guarantee the first three properties, additional steps need to be taken to ensure durability. This property dictates that all the data should be intact, even if there is a system or power failure. In-memory databases are based on the volatile main memory. The volatile memory is designed in such a way that all the data will be lost if the system is powered off. In-memory databases use various techniques to ensure that the data doesn’t get erased after a power off or a system failure.

Snapshotting

An in-memory database creates periodic snapshots of the database and stores it in the disk drives (non-volatile). This snapshot of the database is a copy of that whole database at a particular point in time. While periodic snapshotting is a way to preserve data, it might not ensure durability. There is always a chance of system failure after a snapshot has been saved. All the changes after the snapshot will be lost.

Transaction Logging

In this method, the in-memory database keeps a record of every modification made to the database. These transaction logs will have the details of every insert and modify operation. It’s stored in a non-volatile file that can be used to recover the database in case of a failure. In databases that perform thousands of operations per minute, transaction logging adds overhead to the system’s performance and storage capacity. Most of the in-memory databases keep the transaction logs till a snapshot is made and discard them.

Non-volatile Random-Access Memory (NVRAM)

Another way of ensuring data durability is by using non-volatile random-access memory. The NVRAM retains data even after power shut down. NVRAM is a popular solution that’s used by in-memory databases to achieve data durability. In-memory databases use battery-powered static RAM or electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM).

Discover a Single Solution to Govern, Manage, and Consume All Shared Data Assets
Discover a Single Solution to Govern, Manage, and Consume All Shared Data Assets
Avoid silos with an all-in-one approach to managing data assets across the enterprise.

Essential Features of an In-Memory Database

With the increase in real-time applications, the demand for the in-memory database has also increased. Multiple in-memory databases are available on the market. It is sometimes difficult to choose a perfect in-memory database solution. The following are the essential features that an in-memory database should possess to be useful in the current market scenarios.

Ready for Cloud Migration

Most organizations are moving to the cloud and prefer the software as a service (SAAS) business model. The in-memory database also needs to be able to support the cloud model. This means the in-memory database should be offered as a database-as-a-service. With database-as-a-service, developers and users can use a shared pool of database resources on an on-demand basis. Once they are finished, the database resources are returned to the resource pool. The cloud-ready, in-memory databases are fast, scalable, and flexible.

Ready for the Internet of Things

If an organization wants to explore the internet of things market, they need a real-time database designed to support it. The Internet of Things includes hundreds of sensors (like health and security monitors) continuously sending real-time data. The in-memory database should be ready to handle millions of messages sent by numerous sensors present across the globe. The in-memory database should store and retrieve this data very quickly so that analytics can make quick decisions.

ACID Compliant

Every database should fulfill the requirements for atomicity, consistency, isolation, and durability. These features are essential for data integrity. From a business point of view, having a database that complies with the ACID properties will help the organization to make correct decisions. Using a proprietary implementation of an in-memory database that does not have ACID properties may lead to inaccurate data and erroneous decisions. Make your choice carefully.

What Are the Advantages of In-Memory Databases?

Performance

In-memory databases store data on the computer’s main memory, which the processor can directly access. The read and write operations of an in-memory database is much faster than the traditional disk-based databases.

Simplicity

The traditional databases’ storage requirements are complex as they need to optimize the read/write operations on the secondary storage device. This includes the logic to store data on continuous blocks of disks, which makes retrieval easy. With an in-memory database, random access is highly efficient. Hence, the data structures to store the in-memory databases is quite simple.

Use in Embedded Systems

An in-memory database doesn’t need a secondary storage device. This property is highly useful in the case of today’s highly mobilized. Embedded devices like gaming consoles or smart TV cannot afford a secondary storage device. So,they can use an in-memory database. This property is very significant in today’s world, where the Internet of Things has become quite popular and secondary storage devices are an impossibility.

What Are the Disadvantages of In-Memory Databases?

Data Durability

While the random-access memory facilitates high-speed data operations, in-memory databases are susceptible to data losses. The data in the in-memory database is stored only temporarily. In case of a system crash, there is a chance of data loss.

Solution: We have seen in the earlier section how in-memory databases use different techniques like snapshotting, transaction logs, and non-volatile random-access memory to solve the data durability issue.

Size of Data

As the size of the random-access memory of a computer is limited (typically in gigabytes), in-memory databases may not be able to handle huge data requirements.

Solution: This issue has multiple solutions. Connecting multiple computers over the grid to increase the size of the main memory is one way of solving the size issue. Also, with multi-core computers, we can extend the size of the random-access memory.