什麼是資料孤島?

資料孤島是與組織隔離的資訊集合,公司的每一階層都無法隨時存取其中內容。解決資料孤島問題對於企業而言是昂貴且耗時的工作,但解決方法卻相對簡單。

資料孤島圖

擺脫資料孤島後,您可以在對的時間存取正確的資訊,幫助您做出明智的業務決策。消除資料孤島還可以減少資訊儲存成本和重複資訊。

資料孤島如何產生?

資料孤島出現的常見原因有以下三種:

組織的工作文化

在大多數組織中,部門和團隊都傾向於獨立工作,在大公司中尤其明顯。這種孤立可能導致內部競爭,因為團隊將自己與公司分開看待,資訊不共享,便產生了孤島現象。

組織結構

組織需要整合所有部門,才能避免資訊孤島。

不同部門使用不同技術

在一個組織中,常見的做法是不同部門各自使用眾多的應用程式。例如,銷售團隊可能使用 Salesforce,而行銷部門使用 HootSuite,媒體團隊使用 SproutSocial。全部這些應用程式都包含大量資訊,若能共享,則每個團隊都可以從中受益。根據調查顯示,組織可能跨部門使用多達 1200 個應用程式,由於資訊來源過多,將使其中資訊難以共享。

現代化您的數據和分析架構
現代化您的數據和分析架構
查看這 13 個用例,以了解怎樣支援當今複雜的數據和分析環境。

為什麼資料孤島是個問題?

由於以下幾個原因,資料孤島可能會給組織帶來問題:

沒有全方位資料視圖

當資料處於孤島狀態時,組織無法擁有全方位 360 度企業範圍視圖。在此情況下,將會遺失任何相關的資料連結。以行銷活動及其產生的利潤為例,如果該資料能與銷售團隊針對同一地區目前銷售數據的相關資訊進行結合運用,將可使行銷活動的決策更加明智和有效。但是由於孤島,這樣的資訊共享就不可能發生。

資源浪費

每個團隊都有一個客戶資訊資料庫,並以不同的格式保存這些資訊,在此情況下,資訊重複的可能性很高。但是儘管其中存在大量的重複,組織最終還是得承擔儲存兩個團隊資訊的成本。這種資料孤島會產生較高的儲存成本,增加了財務資源壓力。

資料不一致

當資料被複製並儲存在一起時,資料的不一致之處也會被引入公司的資訊流中。資訊集的某個欄位,例如客戶地址,可能會以多種格式儲存起來,導致前後不一致。再加上輸入地址時可能發生人為錯誤,因此儲存的資料中會存在許多不一致。

資料孤島如何影響組織

部門雖然分開運作,但它們在許多層面上相互依存。例如,來自財務部門的資料可以由行銷和銷售部門進行分析應用。隨著企業希望獲得競爭優勢、提高營運效率、開闢新商機,同時還要降低成本,這些需求將促使組織利用資料完成更多目標。為此,能否存取整個企業範圍的資訊是成功關鍵,而資料孤島會阻礙這種發展。

限制資料檢視

由於孤島阻礙了資訊共享,每個部門的分析仍只在其內部應用。因此如果資料不能在所有利益相關者之間共享,則企業中普遍存在的效率不彰問題就可能不會暴露出來,進而失去所有能夠降低營運成本的機會。

資料完整性威脅

資料孤島導致部門資料不一致,而隨著時間推移,每個不一致之處又繼續導致不準確和無用的資料。這在醫療領域中很常見,由於患者資訊儲存在多個孤島中,例如醫師摘要、護理記錄、藥物攝入量和程序說明,這些資料孤島沒有聯通,往往會不同步,並導致廣泛的差異。

浪費資源

分配儲存空間給多組資料(通常是重複的資料)會增加公司財務資源的負擔,當各部門下載這些資訊時,其資源品質也會受到不良影響。

不利合作文化

公司的工作文化促使孤島產生,反過來孤島又強化了不利合作的文化。難以存取的資料會減少協同作業的機會。

O'Reilly 報告:建立整合的數據基礎設施
O'Reilly 報告:建立整合的數據基礎設施
只有三分之一的企業已發展成為數據驅動的機構。解決辦法是什麼?在這電子書尋找答案!

如何打破資料孤島

組織消除資料孤島的最簡單方法,是將其整合到資料倉儲中。

建立指令碼

一些公司利用以 SQL 或 Python 編寫的指令碼來編寫程式以提取資料,並將資料移到一個中心位置管理。這樣做的唯一缺點是相當耗時,而且需要高度專業。

本地 ETL 工具

提取、轉換、載入 (ETL) 工具可以自動化整個過程,幫忙消除移動資料的麻煩。此流程會從來源中提取資料,執行必要的轉換,然後將資料載入到接收方資料倉儲中。這些工具通常裝載於組織的站點。

雲端型 ETL 工具

這些 ETL 工具託管在雲端上,所用的專業功能和基礎架構都由供應商提供。

大多數組織都知道資料孤島是一項挑戰。當您擁有根深蒂固的資料分離文化時,改變員工的思維方式可能是很困難的任務。此外,孤島可能很難消除,因為有一系列難以解開的權限和層次結構需要處理。開始改變它的最簡單方法是,將資料從不同的系統中移到資料倉儲,將該倉儲當做所有收集資料的儲存庫。因為資料倉儲主要是針對輕鬆存取和分析進行優化,而不是針對交易處理,所以可確保從 360 度觀看公司的資料。

避免被不斷進入市場的新技術趨勢所左右,反之,您應該尋找貴企業可以利用的高價值機會。分析您實際的業務需求,盡量精簡資料解決方案,從組織的每個部門提取資料,並投資於分析使用案例。

從此之後,公司就可以朝向整合的目標前進,每一步都是為了幫企業資料構建一個整合平台而努力。

要做到這一切,跨組織的支援能力就很重要,同時也需要高階主管全力支持。隨著逐漸將高品質的資料應用於營運和策略,您想在組織中看到的變化將會自然而然發生。

擺脫資料孤島的任務並不容易。在資料分析方面,大部分努力是為了確保能夠準確地完成資料準備工作。同樣的原則也適用於孤島,若想變得更加資料導向,組織需要妥善整合資料,使其可供整個組織使用。

What is a Data Silo?

A data silo is a collection of information isolated from an organization and inaccessible to all parts of a company hierarchy. Data silos create expensive and time consuming problems for businesses, but they are relatively simple to resolve.

Data Silo Diagram

By getting rid of data silos, you can access the right information at the appropriate time, helping you make smart decisions for the business. Removing data silos also reduces information storage costs and duplicate information.

How Do Data Silos Occur?

There are three common reasons for the occurrence of data silos:

Working Culture of the Organization

In most organizations, departments and teams tend to work in isolation. This is particularly seen in larger companies. This isolation can lead to internal competition as teams view themselves as separate from the company. Information sharing doesn’t happen, which creates silos.

Structure of an Organization

Organizations need to integrate all departments to avoid information silos.

Different Technologies for Different Departments

In an organization, it is common practice for different departments to use a wide range of applications. For example, the sales team may use Salesforce, while the marketing department uses HootSuite, and the media team uses SproutSocial. Each of these apps contain large amounts of information that each team could benefit from, if it was shared. Surveys have shown that organizations can use up to 1200 apps across departments. This results in multiple sources of information, which can be difficult to share.

Modernize Your Data and Analytics Architecture
Modernize Your Data and Analytics Architecture
Check out these 13 use cases to learn how to support today’s complex data and analytics landscape.

Why Are Data Silos a Problem?

Data silos can be problematic for organizations for several reasons:

No Holistic View of Data

When data remains in silos, organizations cannot have a comprehensive 360-degree enterprise-wide view. When this happens, any relevant data connections are missed. Take for example a marketing campaign and the interest generated from it. If this data is combined with the sales team’s information on current sales figures in the same geography, it will make campaign insights more informed and effective. But, with silos, information sharing cannot happen.

Waste of Resources

Every team has a database of customer information and different formats for saving this information. The chances of duplicate information is high. Organizations end up taking on the costs of storing information of both teams, despite the high levels of duplication. Such data silos cost money to store and increase pressure on financial resources.

Inconsistency in Data

When data is duplicated and stored together, data inconsistencies can be introduced into a company’s information flow. A field in the information set, like a customer address, may be stored in multiple formats,resulting in inconsistencies. Add to this the probability of human error with inputting addresses, and there are a number of inconsistencies in stored data.

How Data Silos Affect Organizations

Departments may operate separately, but they are interdependent on many levels. For example, data that comes in from the finance department can be analyzed by the marketing and sales departments. The desire to gain an edge over the competition, improve operational efficiencies, and open up new business opportunities while cutting down on costs pushes organizations to achieve more with their data. For this, access to enterprise-wide information is key. Data silos can hamper this way forward.

Limiting the View of Data

Since silos prevent the sharing of information, every department’s analysis remains contained within itself. Any inefficiencies that may be widespread in an enterprise will not come to light, if data is not shared across all stakeholders. All opportunities to find ways to reduce operational costs are thus lost.

Threatening Data Integrity

Data silos cause inconsistencies in departmental data. With time, each occurrence leads to inaccurate and useless data. This is often seen in the medical field when patient information is stored in multiple silos such as doctor summaries, nursing protocols, medicine intake, and procedural notes. When data silos are not connected, they tend to go out of sync and result in widespread discrepancies.

Wasting Resources

Multiple sets of data (often duplicate) burdens the financial resources of the company allotted to storage space. When various departments download this information, the resource quality suffers.

Discouraging Collaborative Work

A company’s working culture drives the creation of silos, which in turn reinforces a non-collaborative culture. Data that is difficult to access reduces collaborative efforts.

O'Reilly Report: Building a Unified Data Infrastructure
O'Reilly Report: Building a Unified Data Infrastructure
Only a third of businesses have evolved into data-driven organizations. What's the solution? Find out in this eBook!

How to Break Down Data Silos

The simplest way for an organization to remove data silos is to consolidate it into a data warehouse.

Create Scripts

Some companies utilize scripts written in SQL or Python to write code to extract data and move it to a central location. The only drawback is that it is time-consuming and needs a lot of expertise.

On-Premise ETL Tools

Extract, Transform, Load (ETL) tools can help remove the hassle of moving data by automating the whole process. This extracts data from source, performs necessary transformations, and then loads the data into the recipient data warehouse. These tools are usually hosted on the organization’s site.

Cloud-Based ETL Tools

Hosted in the Cloud, these ETL tools leverage the expertise and infrastructure offered by the vendor.

Most organizations recognize the fact that data silos are a challenge. When you have an ingrained culture of data separation, changing the mind-sets of employees can be difficult. Additionally, undoing silos can be difficult. There are a range of permissions and hierarchies that are difficult to untangle. The easiest way to start modifying this is to move data from the varied systems into a data warehouse, which acts as the repository for all collected data. Data warehouses are optimized for easy access and analysis—not for transactional processing. This ensures a 360-view of company data.

Avoid getting swayed by new technological trends that constantly enter the market. Rather, look for high-value opportunities that your business can take advantage of; analyze business needs, and narrow down on data solutions. Draw in the data from every department of the organization, and invest in analyzing use cases.

From here, a company can move forwards with the goal of integration. Each step should work towards building an integrated platform for enterprise data.

To do all of this, cross-organizational support is of utmost importance. Executive leadership needs to come in with their full support as well. With the gradual use of data in operational and strategic applications, the changes you need to see in an organizational set up will take place naturally.

The task of getting rid of data silos is not easy. In data analysis, a majority of the work lies in ensuring that data preparation is done accurately. The same principle applies to silos—to be more data driven, organizations need to integrate data and make it available to the whole organization.