如何在不断发展的网络空间中检测银行欺诈行为?

银行欺诈自银行出现以来就一直存在,但随着网上银行的兴起,欺诈行为已经进入了一个全新的维度。银行业检测网络犯罪或识别异常情况的能力必须适应不断变化的技术。金融机构需要不断跟上银行欺诈侦测的发展形势。

银行欺诈示例

银行欺诈造成的损失会积少成多,因此减少欺诈成为当务之急。但是,银行和金融科技服务机构已开始采取预防措施来减少这些损失。复杂的数据科学模型可以加快流程并预测异常情况,做到更准确和更具预测性,并减少银行的支出金额。

由于欺诈者具备劫持网上银行会话方面的专业知识,有可能在全球任何国家或地区的银行进行攻击。欺诈者最常见的行为包括:

  • 窃取客户凭证
  • 部署恶意软件
  • 从感染了恶意软件的客户账户中窃取资金

作者马克·古德曼 (Marc Goodman) 在他的《未来犯罪》一书中指出,犯罪分子是新兴技术的首批利用者之一;他们很快就获得了所需的专业知识,甚至将复杂的技术用来对付毫无戒心的用户。

银行欺诈白皮书
使用 TIBCO 打击金融犯罪
如果您只能使用一个平台来检测所有类型的重大金融犯罪会怎么样?

误报结果的陷阱

当欺诈检测系统误读真实交易并将其标记为欺诈,从而导致交易被拒绝时,就会出现误报。这可能会破坏账户持有人与银行之间的客户关系。这也可能导致商家因交易被拒而损失销售额,从而导致误报而无法完成销售。

如果没有对系统进行校准以最大限度地减少误报,银行将合法交易错误地归类为欺诈行为,就有可能失去客户。如果银行在这种情况下注销信用卡,则必须自掏腰包支付运营成本,例如打印新卡并将其邮寄给懊恼的客户。这可能会导致失去信任并增加客户流失。因此,银行在区分真实交易和欺诈交易时必须尽可能准确。

这时,以下工具和技术在欺诈检测中起到重要作用:

银行打击网络犯罪和减少误报的工具

数据分析软件

数据分析软件提供了一系列策略来检测欺诈性银行交易,其中包括分析日常业务数据各个方面的模式,例如输入日期验证、标记重复交易、数值求和以及统计计算,以检测表示欺诈的异常值。该软件中的内部制衡允许对独立欺诈调查的背景情况进行分析,以及对使其容易受到网络攻击的银行业务流程进行可重复的分析,并估计发生欺诈的风险水平。

即使是传统的银行部门也提高了对信息的管理要求,将审计调整从周期性的传统方法转变为长期且基于风险的模式,以跟上金融科技发展的步伐。如果预防性控制措施无法成功,使用本地开发的软件进行持续监视可能会有所帮助。

银行业中的人工智能和机器学习

异常检测是一种由人工智能驱动的经典欺诈检测技术。这种技术可以找出偏离既定规范的任何偏差,以衡量远程银行欺诈和洗钱流程。基于异常检测的反欺诈解决方案比使用预测性规范性数据分析的解决方案更为常见。

异常检测内在的机器学习模型是根据连续不断的传入数据流进行训练的,它不断将这些数据与预先建立的银行交易、新账户生成、贷款申请和其他银行交易的常态基线进行比较。系统会标记偏离标准的情况以进行人工监控。在查看数据后,人工监控可以接受或拒绝标记为真正的警报。人工监控的决定是机器学习模型了解其对欺诈活动的检测是否正确的基础,并且如果不正确,则了解这是否是目前为止未见过但可以接受的偏差。

基于机器学习的欺诈检测解决方案可以经过训练,以检测跨多个数据通道以及多种类型的交易和应用程序的欺诈行为(通常是并行的)。

如果银行使用基于人工智能的反欺诈系统,每日误报数量通常会减少,实际欺诈的检测率也会提高。这样,银行就可以重新安排资源分配,以消除真实的欺诈案例并发现新出现的欺诈行为。它还可以检测已知数据之间的不一致之处,例如账户持有人的注册地理位置与交易地点之间的差异,或者何时进行了非常不合常规的购买。

用于防范银行欺诈的数据分析

在过去的几年中,高科技数据可视化极大地推动了高级分析的发展。数据科学可以发现隐藏的模式,并从大量结构化和非结构化数据中提供有价值的洞见。数据分析需要将数据挖掘、机器学习和高级分析相结合,以提供有用的洞见。

高科技分析能力分为以下四大类:

  1. 描述性分析:描述发生了什么。这可能是最近的天气报告。
  2. 诊断分析:深入研究一种现象并解释为什么会发生某些事情。换句话说,他们研究促成事件或事件发生的因素。例如,什么天气条件导致了飓风。
  3. 预测分析:获取诊断信息并预测接下来会发生什么。这就是天气预报,了解该地区的天气模式,查看发生了什么,并预测未来可能发生的情况。
  4. 规范性分析:推荐解决方案、预防或应急措施或损害控制。

预测性和规范性分析软件既可以处理相同的数据,也可以获得类似的培训。银行聘请数据科学家或银行数据专家首先通过将大量交易标记为合法、可接受或欺诈来建立基准。然后,通过机器学习模型加以运行,软件就能识别和标记银行欺诈。

欺诈协调

欺诈协调是银行网络犯罪武器库中强大的新工具。它以集中式平台的形式运作,可以从单一地点监控欺诈活动。实时数据分析与防欺诈系统结合运行,从而可以快速识别欺诈行为并敏捷地应对欺诈。欺诈协调的另一个优势是,能够根据客户支出模式和趋势为银行开发客户档案。

这反过来又有助于电子商务零售商实时监督客户的购买,以阻止误报读数。因此,欺诈协调使银行能够更全面地了解其客户,将行为数据与交易数据相结合,从而微调欺诈检测系统。

创建全新开放银行生态系统!
创建全新开放银行生态系统!
了解创造不公平优势所需的 5 项技术。

银行业的未来需要准确的欺诈检测

随着越来越多的金融机构更多地采用自动化、整体和集成的银行欺诈检测模式,他们有可能利用自己的经验使检测系统在长期内变得更加清晰。

How to Detect Banking Fraud in a Constantly Evolving Cyberspace?

Banking fraud has been around as long as banks have been in existence, but it’s acquired a whole new dimension with the rise of online banking. The banking industry’s ability to detect cybercrime or identify anomalies has to adapt with changing technology. Financial institutions continually need to keep up with the detection of banking fraud.

Banking Fraud Example

Losses due to banking fraud can add up, making it imperative to reduce them. However, banks and Fintech services are beginning to implement preventative measures to reduce these losses. Sophisticated data science models can speed up the process and predict anomalies, be more accurate and predictive, and reduce spending amounts for banks.

Fraudsters can potentially strike in any bank, in any country, across the globe thanks to their expertise in hijacking online banking sessions. The most common behaviors of fraudsters include:

  • Stealing the client credentials
  • Deploying malware
  • Stealing funds from client accounts infected with malware

Author Marc Goodman, in his book Future Crimes, points out that criminals rank among the first exploiters of emerging technologies; they quickly gain the expertise needed to turn even complex technologies against unsuspecting users.

Banking Fraud Whitepaper
Bust Financial Crime with TIBCO
What if you could use just one platform to detect all types of major financial crimes?

The Pitfalls of False Positive Results

False positives occur when fraud detection systems misread genuine transactions and flag them as fraud, resulting in the transaction being declined. This could lead to damaging customer relations between the account holder and the bank. This can also result in merchants losing sales as a result of declined transactions, leading to false positives as sales killers.

If the system is not calibrated to minimize false positives, the bank risks losing its clients when it wrongfully classifies legitimate transactions as fraud. If the bank cancels credit cards in such a scenario, it has to pay out of pocket for operational costs such as printing new cards and mailing them to frustrated customers. This could lead to a loss of trust and increased customer churn. Therefore, banks must be as accurate as possible in distinguishing between genuine transactions and fraudulent ones.

This is where the following tools and technologies become an essential part of fraud detection:

Tools for Banks to Beat Cybercrime and Reduce False Positives

Data Analysis Software

Data analysis software comes with a spectrum of tactics to detect fraudulent banking transactions. These include modes of analyzing various aspects of everyday business data such as entry dates validation, flagging duplicate transactions, numeric values summation, and statistical calculations to detect outliers that signal fraud. Internal checks and balances in the software allow the analysis of contextual situations for a standalone fraud investigation as well as a repeatable analysis of banking processes that render it susceptible to cyberattacks and estimating risk levels of one occurring.

Even traditional banking sectors have increased their management requirements for information, moving audit adjustment from cyclic, conventional approaches to a longstanding and risk-based model to keep up with fintechs. Constant surveillance with locally developed software can be helpful if preventative controls are not able to make the cut.

Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in Banking

Anomaly detection is a classic fraud detection technique driven by artificial intelligence. This technique picks out any deviations from set norms to measure against remote banking fraud and money-laundering processes. Anomaly detection-based anti-fraud solutions are more common than solutions that use predictive and prescriptive data analytics.

Anomaly detection’s inherent machine learning model is trained based on the continuous flow of incoming data that it constantly compares against pre-established baselines for normalcy with regards to banking transactions, new account generation, loan applications, and other banking transactions. The system flags any deviations from the norm for a human monitor. Upon review of the data, the human monitor can either accept or reject the flag as a bonafide alert. The human monitor’s decision is the basis for the machine learning model to understand whether its detection of fraudulent activity was correct or not, and if not, whether it was a hitherto unseen but acceptable deviation.

Machine learning-based solutions for fraud detection can be trained to detect fraud across more than one data channel and with more than one type of transaction and application, often in parallel.

Banks that employ artificial intelligence-based anti-fraud systems often see a reduction in their daily false positives count, and detection rates of actual fraud increases. This can empower banks to rearrange resource allocation toward stamping out real cases of fraud and detecting emerging fraudulent practices. It can also detect inconsistencies between known data, such as a difference between the registered geographical location of an account holder and a transaction location or when highly irregular types of purchases are made.

Data Analytics for Banking Fraud Prevention

High-tech data visualization has advanced analytics greatly in the last few years. Data science can discover hidden patterns and deliver valuable insights from enormous amounts of both structured and unstructured data. Data analysis requires a combination of data mining, machine learning, and advanced analytics to deliver useful insights.

High-tech analytical capabilities are classified into the following four general categories:

  1. Descriptive analytics: describes what has occurred. This could be something such as a recent weather report.
  2. Diagnostic analytics: delves into a phenomenon and explains why something occurred. In other words, they examine the factors which contributed to an event or occurrence. For example, what weather conditions caused a hurricane.
  3. Predictive analytics: takes the diagnostic information and predicts what might come next. This is weather forecasting—knowing weather patterns for the area, seeing what has occurred, and predicting what may happen in future.
  4. Prescriptive analytics: recommends solutions, preventative or contingency measures, or damage control.

Predictive and prescriptive analytics software can both work the same data and get similar training. Banks employ data scientists or banking data experts to first establish a baseline by labeling a very high volume of transactions as legitimate, acceptable, or fraudulent. Running them through the machine learning model then enables the software to recognize and flag banking fraud.

Fraud Orchestration

Fraud orchestration is a powerful new tool in a bank’s cybercrime arsenal. It functions in the form of a centralized platform where fraudulent activity can be monitored from a single location. Real-time data analytics are run in conjunction with fraud prevention systems, leading to the rapid identification of fraud and agility to respond to it. Another advantage of fraud orchestration is the ability to develop customer profiles for banks, based on customer spending patterns and trends.

This in turn helps eCommerce retailers supervise their customers’ purchases in real-time to stop a false positive reading. Thus, fraud orchestration provides banks with a more holistic picture of their customers, combining behavioral data with transactional data, and thereby fine-tuning fraud-detection systems.

Create Your New Open Banking Ecosystem!
Create Your New Open Banking Ecosystem!
Learn about the 5 technologies needed for creating an unfair advantage.

The Future of Banking Needs Accurate Fraud Detection

As more and more financial institutions increasingly adopt automated, holistic, and integrated modes of banking fraud detection, they have the potential to use their experiences to make detection systems even sharper over the long term.