什麼是地理位置圖?

地理位置圖(也稱為地理圖地圖表)是適合將每個州、國家或地區的不同資料視覺化的理想工具。地理位置圖向讀者展示分佈在地圖各個區域的值的熱區圖。例如,美國地圖可以用較暗的顏色來顯示人口較密集的區域,用較淺的相同顏色陰影來顯示人口稀少的區域。

地理位置圖範例

做為一種視覺化工具,地理位置圖不同於任何其他圖表,因為不可能使用任何其他圖表來取代地理位置圖。但是,在需要於單張圖表中表示多個資料值的情況下,可以使用長條圖來代替地理位置圖。

地理位置圖展示
利用 Spotfire 建立視覺化呈現/圖表
查看此演示,以了解 Spotfire 在進行可視化數據的各個方面有多麼容易。

地理位置圖的常見用途

地理位置圖可以在資料是人口或更大區域的函數的任何情況下使用。

例如,在需要研究人口屬性的情況下,像是疾病流行率、安全覆蓋率、每百萬家庭的學校數量或犯罪率,地理位置圖是最好的視覺化技術。

雖然每張圖表只能研究一個屬性,但大多數圖表軟體產品都可以新增多個圖層來顯示同一人群的各種特徵。

例如,一個州的學校、公園、娛樂設施和保健中心的數量,可以在同一張地理位置圖的不同圖層上進行研究。

然而,並不是所有的地理位置圖只能代表人口屬性。地理位置圖也可用於研究隨時間變化的野生動物密度、隨時間變化的森林枯竭率等等。

在選擇商業空間時,可以在商業中使用地理位置圖來研究實體商店的所在區域或公共交通使用情況。此圖表還可以表示一個地區的變化,這些變化或許與人口完全沒有直接關聯。例如,可以使用地理位置圖中的圖層來研究某個地區在一段時間內的咖啡生產。

地理位置圖可用於觀察一個地區中某種作物產品是否隨時間增長或下降,這可能與該地區的氣候變化資料分層顯示,以觀察兩者之間的關係(如果有的話)。

如何構建地理位置圖

每個圖表構建工具都使用不同的流程來建立地理位置圖,但其背後的設計構想本質上是相同的。地理位置圖是將所研究的特徵放到地圖的各個區域進行比較。

因此,地區名稱通常從一列原始資料中提取,而另一列則代表一個特徵,例如人數、醫院數量或餐館數量。

建立地理位置圖時遇到的最常見問題之一是地圖區域的錯誤識別。通常,大多數軟體產品會選出一些區域名稱,但不是全部。發生這種情況時,某些資料可能根本無法表示。通常解決此問題的唯一方法是,將資料手動新增到地圖中。

然而,一些軟體產品也允許使用者輸入一個釘選代碼來幫助識別某個區域,然後輸入要呈現的相應值。但是,當使用大量全球資料時,這兩方面都可能變得很棘手。

地理位置圖的類型

地理位置圖根據其預期用途分為幾種類型:

區域地理位置圖

區域地理位置圖是最常見的地理位置圖類型,顧名思義,此圖表用於在地圖上表示來自不同區域的資料。

標記地理位置圖

有時一個區域可能不具有代表性,如果只關注一個區域,卻用它代表一整個國家,結果可能會令人感到困惑。在這種情況下,請使用標記或圓形彩色空間來表示資料,這種視覺化呈現類似於氣泡圖,彩色標記越大或越密集,代表數量更多。

文字地理位置圖

雖然這本身不是一種類型,但可以在地理位置圖上使用文字型標籤來表示額外資料。

地理位置熱區圖

在某些地理位置圖上,可以使用不同強度的熱區圖來表示資料。這在資料具有某種程度的變化,且無法僅用顏色漸變來容納該變化時,會是特別有用的表示方式。

使用地理位置圖的好處

地理位置圖的應用範圍很廣,不只與學術環境有關,企業也能從中獲益良多。

擴展到新地區的企業需要研究各區域的收入,並將這些資料與其他地區過去的收入增長率進行比較。為此,地理位置圖是最好的解決方案,它可以放大各個區域以查看精細視圖,或縮小以查看全球收入分佈。下圖顯示美國電子產品的銷售額。

地理位置圖銷售範例

在地理位置圖上,可以將地圖上的二或多個點畫線連接起來。這在研究物流資料時特別有用,例如貨物在全球供應鏈中的移動。

一些地理位置圖還提供棱鏡來表示沿第三維度的增長情形。回到依地理位置劃分收入的例子,可能更容易使用不同高度的棱鏡將這些數字視覺化。有趣的是,類似的分析經常被用來研究大選的選票分佈。

地理位置圖軟體
嘗試 TIBCO Spotfire - 免費試用
借助 TIBCO Spotfire(市場上最完整的分析解決方案),可以輕鬆地從數據中發現新見解。

使用地理位置圖時的挑戰

在處理如此大量的資料時,經常會出現技術挑戰,地理位置圖也不例外。使用全球地理地圖最常見的挑戰之一是,平面地圖經常出現的相同問題。

地理扭曲

地球是球形的,但大多數地理位置圖是平面的,這通常意味著某些區域在平坦表面上的面積可能比實際在地球上更小、更大或更分散。在地理位置圖上使用連線時,這有時會導致問題,因為兩點之間的距離可能並不完全準確。

根據圖表的用途,有一些解決方案可以參考。然而,為了形成最好的結論,讀者應該記住,失真是球型圖表扁平化所無法避免的一個問題。

顏色選擇

在某些國家,不同的顏色具有重要意義。例如在美國,紅色和藍色出現在美國國旗上,代表兩個主要政黨。選擇中立的顏色對於避免先入為主很重要。

地理位置圖的好處

地理位置圖的最大好處是它非常容易被解碼,在視覺上很有趣,並能清楚顯示某一個概念(或一組測量值)。若要顯示地理區域及其與組織的關係,它是企業的理想選擇。

What is a Geographical Chart?

Geographical charts (also referred to as geo charts or map charts) are ideal visualization tools for data that is different for each state, country, or region. A geographical chart shows the reader a heatmap of values spread out over various regions of a map. For example, the population of the United States map could be displayed with denser areas in darker colors and sparsely populated areas in lighter shades of the same color.

Geographical Chart Example

As a visual tool, a geographical chart is unlike any other chart in that it is impossible to replace a geographical chart with any other chart. However, in cases where multiple data values need to be represented in a single chart, a bar chart may be used instead of a geographical chart.

Geographical Chart Demo
Visualizations/Charts with Spotfire
Check out this demo to see how easy Spotfire makes it to start visualizing all aspects of your data.

Common Uses of a Geographical Chart

A geographical chart can be used in any context where the data is a function of population or of a larger region.

For example, in cases where population attributes need to be studied—such as disease prevalence, safety coverage, the number of schools per million families, or crime rate—a geographical chart is the best visualization technique to use.

While for each chart, only one attribute may be studied, multiple layers can be added to most chart software products to show various features of the same population.

For example, the number of schools, parks, recreational facilities, and health centers in a state can all be studied on the same geographical chart but in different layers.

However, not all geographical charts represent the attributes of a human population. A geographical chart can also be used to study the density of wildlife over time, the rate of depleted forest areas over time, and much more.

A geographical chart can be used in business to study areas for offline stores or access to public transport when picking commercial space. The chart can also represent changes in a region that are not directly dependent on populations at all. For example, coffee production in a region over a period of time can be studied using the layers in a geographical chart.

A geographical chart can be used to observe if the product of a certain crop grows or declines in a region over time, and this can be layered with data on climate change in the region to observe relationships between the two, if any.

How to Construct a Geographical Chart

Every chart building tool will have a different process for creating a geographical chart. However, the idea behind each one is essentially the same. A geographical chart compares various regions on a map with the feature being studied.

Therefore, the region name is usually picked up from one column of raw data, while the other column represents a feature—such as the number of people, the number of hospitals, or the number of restaurants.

One of the most common issues encountered while creating a geographical chart is the misidentification of map areas. Usually, most software products pick up some area names but not all. When this happens, some of the data may not be represented at all. Usually, the only way to fix this is to manually add the data to the map.

However, some software products also allow users to enter a pin code to help identify a region and then enter the corresponding value being represented. However, both these aspects can be tricky when using large volumes of global data.

Types of Geographical Charts

Geographical charts are classified into various types based on their intended use:

Region Geographical Charts

Region geographical charts are the most common type of geographical chart. As the name suggests, this chart is used to represent data from different regions on a map.

Marker Geographical Charts

Sometimes an entire region may not be relevant for representation. Representing a country, when a region is in focus, can be confusing. In such cases, markers or circular, colored spaces are used to represent data. This visualization is similar to a bubble chart with larger or more densely colored markers representing a higher quantity.

Text Geographical Chart

While this is not a type in itself, text-based labels can be used on a geographical chart to represent additional data.

Heat Map Geographical Chart

On some geographical charts, a heat map of varying intensity can be used to represent data. This is particularly useful when representing data that has some degree of variation that cannot be accommodated by a color gradient alone.

Benefits of Using a Geographical Chart

There is a broad range of applications for a geographical chart, and it is relevant for far more than just academic contexts. Businesses have a lot to gain as well.

Businesses that expand into new geographies need to study their revenues by region and compare this data with past rates of revenue growth in other regions. For this purpose, a geographical chart is the best solution, offering the ability to zoom into various regions for a granular view or zoom out to see the revenue spread across the globe. The chart below shows the value of electronic goods sales in the United States.

Geographical Chart Sales Example

On a geographical chart, connections can be created by drawing lines between two or more points on the map. This is particularly useful when studying logistical data, such as the movement of goods along a global supply chain.

Some geographical charts also contain prisms to represent growth along a third dimension. Going back to the example of revenues by geography, it might be easier to visualize these numbers as a prism of varying heights. Interestingly, a similar analysis is often used to study the spread of votes in a general election.

Geographical Chart Software
Try TIBCO Spotfire - Free Trial
With TIBCO Spotfire, the most complete analytics solution in the market, easily discover new insights from your data.

Challenges When Using a Geographical Chart

Technical challenges often arise when processing such vast swathes of data—and geographical charts are no exception. One of the most common challenges in using a global geographical map is the same issue that flat maps often pose.

Geographical Distortion

The earth is spherical, but most geographical charts are flat. This often means that some regions are smaller, larger, or more spread-out on a flat surface than they are on the actual planet. This can sometimes cause problems when using connections on a geographical chart, as the distance between two points may not be entirely accurate.

There are solutions, depending on the chart’s purpose. However, to form the best conclusions, readers should remember that distortion is a problem with flattened global charts.

Color Choice

In some countries, different colors have significant meanings. In the USA, red and blue are on the American flag and represent the main two political parties. Choosing agnostic colors is important to avoid preconceptions.

Benefits of a Geographical Chart

The biggest benefit of a geographical chart is that it is incredibly easy to decipher. It is visually interesting and clearly shows a concept (or set of measurements). It is ideal for businesses when showing geographical areas and their relationships to the organization.