什么是气泡图?

气泡图在数据需要第三维度为查看者提供更丰富的信息时可以使用。气泡图是一种用于比较三个变量的关系图。

与其他跨三个轴(通常是 x、y 和 z)处理和表示数据的三维图表不同,气泡图在两个轴(x 和 y)上表示,气泡的大小传递第三个重要的信息维度。

气泡图示例

在用于表示数据的所有图表中,气泡图因其外观而很有趣。除了以关系表示的信息外,气泡图还将关键的第三维度可视化,通常不直接依赖于前两个维度。

虽然标准折线图可能显示特定类型商品的支出(例如,电子产品销售的美元价值),但气泡图会包含额外的信息。在下面的示例中,您可以看到电子产品的销售额和家具的销售额;圆圈代表购买的商品数量。

如何创建气泡图

气泡图适用于研究关系,但不适用于表示精确的数据。光靠气泡尺寸的增长率并不能提供有关数量增长率的准确信息,但它可以为读者提供估计值,并为了解其他两个数量的增长率设定背景。

使用 Spotfire 的气泡图
使用 Spotfire 创建可视化/图表
查看此演示,了解 Spotfire 如何轻松地使数据的各个方面可视化。

为什么使用气泡图?

气泡图对于回答二进制问题最有用,例如三个变量是否共享关系。这种关系可以突出一种模式。

例如,一国的人口一开始可以大或小,但在有保健和卫生设施的情况下增长得更快。实施人口控制措施后,这一比例也会迅速下降。这种情况表明,随着基础设施的改善,气泡大小会随着时间的推移而增加。在这个社会经济示例中,气泡图可以帮助我们了解不同参数如何随时间移动。

气泡图在业务环境中也很有用。事实上,气泡图经常用于当今的核心财务流程之一:估值和投资。例如,通过使用标准轴表示成本和价值,以及气泡大小来表示风险,可以根据风险来研究估值成本。

从上面的电子产品和家具销售额图表来看,存在一种模式。气泡图具有挑战性的方面是解释这个模式。

如何阅读和理解气泡图

像每个二维图表一样,气泡图从绘制 X 轴和 Y 轴开始。通常,选择这些变量是为了预先存在的关系,或者用于确定所选变量之间是否确实存在关系,例如家具和电子产品的销售。

气泡的大小用于表示参数的重力。在人口背景下,这通常是每个国家的人口规模。在业务环境中,这可以是受众规模、随时间推移的潜在价值增长、门店规模或任何其他基于规模的参数。

为了表示需要分解的大型数据集,使用不同颜色的气泡来标记差异。例如,在美国商店购买的商品可能显示为红色,而大洋洲商店可能显示为蓝色。详细粒度级别取决于图表的用途。如今,有几种工具可以动态地表示这些图表,并显示模式随时间变化的情况。

每个气泡图都可以具有这些功能,即所选数据集的特征。气泡图用于突出显示以下元素:

  • 离群值:气泡图上的气泡与图表上的其他气泡表现不同。这些离群值提供了重要信息。
  • 差距:与其他图表一样,气泡图中的差距值得进一步调查,以了解是否缺少数据。
  • 聚类:气泡图上的聚类与离群值完全相反。它们是图表上相同重叠空间周围的一组气泡。例如,如果多个地理区域似乎在某个地方聚集在一起,那么值得了解其中的原因。

在识别和研究这些模式之前,请确保数据没有错误,并且所有比较都基于使用统一方法收集的数据。

以疫情为例,可以肯定地假设,阳性病例的数量会随着测试数量的增加而增加。因此,如果不使用气泡来表示正在进行的测试数量的增加,就无法绘制每百万例阳性病例的增加情况。将一些简单的启发式规则应用于图形和数据可以避免混乱和不确定性。

试试 TIBCO Spotfire-免费试用
试试 TIBCO Spotfire-免费试用
借助市场上最完整的分析解决方案 TIBCO Spotfire,可以轻松发现您数据中的新见解。

使用气泡图时应避免的最佳实践和常见缺陷

使用气泡图时,请记住,只有两个维度是根据具体数据来表示的。由于还表示了另外两个参数,因此遵循最佳实践可以避免混淆。

此外,不同于随着点数增加而提供更多数据的散布图不同,如果气泡图用于表示过多的数据,很快就会变得混乱。气泡开始重叠或聚集在一起,导致读者得出错误的结论。因此,在气泡图上,少即是多。

通常,气泡图不适合表示负值,因为圆不能有负面积。但是,如果需要,空心圆可以用来表示这些负值,满的圆圈表示正值。请注意,这种情况很少见,大多数气泡图仅使用气泡来表示正值;例如,一个国家的人口永远不能为负数。

在充分了解局限性的情况下使用,气泡图可以成为一种有价值的工具,用来表示数据,又不会让读者不知所措。这些图表创造了奇妙的视觉冲击力,但可能不是共享数据的最清晰或最有效的方式。

气泡图的替代方案

散布图

散布图的外观与气泡图类似,但它仅测量两个变量。例如,它可能只显示电子产品购买额与家具购买额相交。但是绘制的这两个变量并没有显示任何有趣或相关的内容,这就是为什么气泡图提供的关系信息很有用的原因。

分类柱状图

尽管分类柱状图看起来不像气泡图,但它们的意图却是相似的。它们使用条形图直接显示比较的值,从而提供支持更高效决策的即时信息。这很容易看出值和值比例的差异。

樱桃图

这种外观简单的图表的绘制方式与散布图类似,但没有使用气泡大小,而是使用 “茎” 长度作为交易量的交易量指标。这带来了一些类似的挑战,因为气泡图具有重叠的数据,因此很难看到细微的数据。但是,它们可以快速了解趋势和影响的大小。

What is a Bubble Chart?

Bubble charts, also known as bubble plots or bubble graphs, are used when data needs a third dimension to provide richer information to viewers. A bubble plot is a relational chart designed to compare three variables.

Unlike other three-dimensional charts that process and represent data across three axes (usually x, y, and z), a bubble chart is represented on two axes (x and y), and the size of the bubble communicates the third, vital piece of information.

Bubble Chart Example

Of all the charts used to represent data, bubble charts are interesting because of their appearance. Apart from the information represented relationally, bubble charts visualize a critical third dimension, usually not directly dependent on the first two dimensions.

While a standard line graph might show the spend on a certain type of goods (for example, dollar value of electronics sales), bubble graphs include extra information. In the below example, you can see the value of sales in electronics and the value of sales in furniture; the circles represent the number of items purchased.

How to Create a Bubble Chart

Bubble charts are good for studying relationships but not for representing exact data. The growth rate of a bubble’s size alone cannot provide accurate information on the rate of quantity growth, but it can provide readers with an estimate and set the context to read the growth rate against the other two quantities.

Bubble Charts with Spotfire
Visualizations/Charts with Spotfire
Check out this demo to see how easy Spotfire makes it to start visualizing all aspects of your data.

Why is a Bubble Chart Used?

A bubble chart is most useful for answering a binary question such as whether three variables share a relationship or not. This relationship can highlight a pattern.

For example, a country’s population could be large or small to begin with but grow faster when health and sanitation facilities are available. It also falls rapidly when population control measures are implemented. This scenario would show bubble size increasing over time as infrastructure improved. In this socio-economic example, a bubble chart can help us understand how different parameters move over time.

Bubble charts can also be useful in a business context. In fact, a bubble chart is often used in one of today’s core financial processes: valuation and investments. For example, the cost of valuation can be studied against risk by using the standard axes to represent cost and value and the bubble sizes to represent risk.

Looking at the above graph of sales of electronic and furniture sales, there is a pattern. The challenging aspect of the bubble chart is interpreting the pattern.

How to Read and Understand A Bubble Chart

A bubble chart, like every two-dimensional chart, begins with plotting the X and Y axes. Usually, these variables are chosen for a pre-existing relationship or to determine if a relationship does indeed exist between the chosen variables—per our example, the sales of furniture and electronic goods.

The size of the bubble is used to represent the gravity of a parameter. In a population’s context, this is often the population size of each country. In the business context, this can be audience size, potential growth in value over time, store size, or any number of other size-based parameters.

For representing large sets of data that need to be broken down, bubbles of different colors are used to mark differences. For example, the items purchased in American stores could be shown in red, and Oceania stores could be shown in blue. The level of granularity in detail depends on the chart’s purpose. Today, several tools can represent these charts dynamically and show movement in patterns over time.

Every bubble chart can have these features, characteristic of selected data sets. Bubble charts serve to highlight elements such as:

  • Outliers: Bubbles on a bubble chart that do not behave like the others on the chart. These outliers provide vital information.
  • Gaps: As is the case with other charts, a gap in a bubble chart warrants further investigation to understand if data is missing.
  • Clusters: Clusters on a bubble chart are the exact opposite of the outliers. They are groups of bubbles that are around the same, overlapping space on the chart. For example, if multiple geographical regions seem to be clumped together somewhere, it is worth understanding why.

Before identifying and studying these patterns, ensure the data is error-free and that all comparisons are based on data that has been collected using uniform methods.

Using the pandemic as an example, it is safe to assume that the number of positive cases would rise as the number of tests conducted also rises. Therefore, the rise in positive cases per million cannot be plotted without using a bubble to represent the rise in the number of tests being conducted. Applying some simple rules of heuristics to the graph and data can save confusion and uncertainty.

Try TIBCO Spotfire - Free Trial
Try TIBCO Spotfire - Free Trial
With TIBCO Spotfire, the most complete analytics solution in the market, easily discover new insights from your data.

Best Practices and Common Pitfalls to Avoid While Using A Bubble Chart

When using a bubble chart, remember that only two dimensions are represented based on concrete data. Since there are two other parameters also being represented, following best practices avoids confusion.

Also, unlike scatter plots that provide more data as the number of points increase, bubble charts can become quickly confusing if they’re used to represent too much data. Bubbles begin to overlap or clump together, causing the reader to draw the wrong conclusions. Hence, on a bubble chart, less is more.

Usually, a bubble chart is not ideal for representing negative values because circles cannot have a negative area. However,empty circles can be used to represent these negative values, and full ones can be used for positive values, if needed. Do note that this is a rare case, and most bubble charts only use bubbles to represent positive values; for example, the population of a country can never be negative.

When used with full knowledge of its limitations, a bubble chart can be a valuable tool to represent data without overwhelming the reader. These charts create fantastic visual impact, but they may not be the clearest or most effective way to share data.

Alternatives to the Bubble Chart

Scatter Plot

A scatter plot is similar in appearance to the bubble chart, but it only measures two variables. For instance, it might only show the value of electronics purchases intersected with the value of furniture purchases. But those two variables plotted don’t show anything interesting or pertinent, which is why the relationship information provided by the bubble plot is useful.

Categorical Column Charts

Although they look nothing like a bubble chart, categorical column charts are similar in intent. They use bar charts to show the values compared directly, allowing for immediate information that supports far more efficient decision-making. It’s easy to see differences in values and proportions of values.

Cherry Chart

This simple-looking chart plots in a similar way to scatter plots, but instead of using a bubble size, they use a “stalk” length as a volume indicator of volume. This presents some similar challenges as a bubble chart with overlapping data making it difficult to see granular data. However, they can give a quick idea of trends and size of effects.