監督型學習是什麼?

監督型學習機器學習的一個分支,一種數據分析方法,它使用從數據中重複學習的演算法,讓電腦能夠自行找到隱藏的見解,而不需特別指定要查看什麼內容。監督型學習是機器「學習」數據的三種方法之一:監督型、非監管型、最佳化。

監督型學習圖

監督型學習可以解決已知問題,並使用標記數據集來訓練演算法以執行特定任務。它使用模型來預測已知結果,例如「圖像的顏色是什麼?」「圖中有多少人?」「哪些因素導致欺詐或產品缺陷?」。也就是說,監督型學習過程像是從圖像中分辨兩輪車和四輪車,必須先有正確標記、能夠識別車輛是兩輪車還是四輪車的訓練數據,這是因為監督型學習是讓演算法從歷史/訓練數據中「學習」,再將學會的知識應用到未知輸入內容上,以得到正確的輸出結果。監督型學習主要使用決策樹、隨機森林和梯度提升等技術來進行。

相比之下,非監管型學習是另一種機器學習,用於識別新模式和檢測異常。輸入到非監督型學習演算法的數據是無標記的,演算法(或模型)試圖透過尋找特徵和模式來自行理解該數據。非監管型機器學習可以回答的問題像是「是否有新的欺詐數據集或購買慣性或失敗模式出現?」非監管型學習主要使用分群、原則元件、神經網路、支援向量機等技術來進行。

最佳化是機器學習的第三種類型,即使存在複雜的限制條件,也能找出最佳解決方案。例如,最佳化可以回答「執行或分配資源或設備維護排程的最佳路線是什麼?」最佳化主要使用以達爾文進化論為基礎的遺傳演算法來進行。

監督型學習中的分類是什麼?

監督型學習有兩種主要類型:分類和迴歸。分類是訓練演算法根據離散變數將輸入數據分類,在訓練期間,演算法會獲得帶有「類別」標籤的訓練輸入數據。例如,訓練數據可能包含一組客戶的最後一張信用卡帳單,其中標記了他們是否承諾未來要購買。當演算法得知新客戶的信用卡餘額時,它會將客戶分類為「將會購買」或「不會購買」兩組。

監督型學習中的迴歸是什麼?

與分類相反,迴歸是一種監督型學習方法,訓練演算法利用一個連續範圍內的可能值來預測輸出結果。例如,房地產訓練數據會記錄位置、面積和其他相關參數,輸出結果則是特定不動產的價格。

在迴歸中,演算法需要識別輸入參數和輸出值之間的函數關係。輸出值不像分類那樣是離散的值,而是一組輸入參數的函數值。若要衡量迴歸演算法的正確性,便要以準確結果和預測結果之間的差異為基礎進行計算。

嘗試 TIBCO Data Science - 免費試用
嘗試 TIBCO Data Science - 免費試用
使用 TIBCO Data Science 在整個機構中實現機器學習的民主化、協作和操作。

分類的實際應用

二元分類

這種演算法會將輸入數據分類為兩個可能群組的其中之一,通常一個類別表示「正常/期望」狀態,另一個類別表示「異常/非期望」狀態。二元分類的實際應用包括:

垃圾郵件檢測

在監督型學習階段,演算法會收到標記為「垃圾郵件」或「非垃圾郵件」的樣本電子郵件。之後,當演算法收到新的電子郵件輸入時,它會預測該郵件屬於「垃圾郵件」還是「非垃圾郵件」。

流失預測

此演算法使用的訓練數據集來自先前取消訂閱服務的客戶,然後基於此訓練,演算法會根據輸入參數來預測新客戶是否會結束訂閱。

轉化預測

此演算法使用買家數據,以及他們是否購買該商品來進行訓練。然後基於此訓練,演算法將預測新客戶是否會購買。

用於二元分類的主要演算法,包括邏輯迴歸和支援向量機。

多元分類

在多元分類中,訓練數據集被標記為多個可能的類別之一。與二元分類相反,多元分類演算法使用可以歸類為許多可能類別之一的數據進行訓練。多元分類的應用包括:

  • 人臉分類:基於訓練數據,模型會比對照片進行分類,然後對應至特定人士。需要注意的是,這裡可能使用大量的類別標籤,在本例中,即成千上萬的人物。
  • 電子郵件分類:多元分類可將電子郵件分為各種類別:社交、教育、工作和家庭。
  • 用於多元分類的主要演算法包括隨機森林、貝氏演算法 (NB)、決策樹、K-近鄰演算法和梯度提升技術。

多標籤分類

與結果只有一個可能類別的二元分類和多元分類不同,多標籤分類的輸出值可以屬於一或多個類別。這表示相同的輸入數據,可能被分類到不同的容器中。多標籤分類的應用包括:

  • 照片檢測:如果照片中有多個物體,例如車輛、動物和人,照片可以標記多個標籤。
  • 音訊/視訊分類:同樣的歌曲和影片可能適合不同的風格和心情,多標籤分類可用於分配多個標籤。
  • 文字分類:可以根據內容對文章進行分類。

不平衡分類

這是二元分類的一個特例,其訓練數據集的類別內容並不均衡,訓練數據中的大部份範例屬於第一組,只有一小部份屬於第二組。不幸的是,大多數機器學習演算法在各類別平均分配時的效果最好。例如,假設在您的訓練數據中,有 10,000 次真實客戶交易和 100 次欺詐交易。由於數據量不平均,為了平衡其準確性,就需要專門的技術。不平衡分類的應用可能是:

  • 詐騙偵測:在用於訓練的標記數據集中,只有少數輸入被標記為欺詐。
  • 醫學診斷:在大量樣本中,疾病呈陽性的樣本可能要少得多。

專門技術運用以成本為基礎和以樣本為基礎的方法,可以幫助處理不平衡的分類情況。

迴歸的實際應用

線性迴歸

監督型學習中的線性迴歸訓練演算法,目的在於找到輸入和輸出數據之間的線性關係。這是使用上最簡單的模型,其輸出值為一組輸入值的線性加權值。線性迴歸可用於預測連續範圍內的值(例如銷售額、價格,即「預測」)或將它們分類(例如貓、狗,即「邏輯迴歸」)。在線性迴歸的訓練數據中,會提供輸入變數(獨立變數)和相應的輸出變數(相依變數),之後根據所提供的附標記輸入數據,迴歸演算法就能算出線性函數中的截距和 x 係數。線性迴歸的應用可能包括:

預測:線性迴歸最重要的應用之一是預測。預測結果可能具有不同的性質,例如企業可以使用線性迴歸來預測銷售額或客戶購買行為。也可以預測經濟成長、房地產銷售、石油等商品價格。線性迴歸還可根據工資的歷史數據,來估算新員工的最佳工資。

邏輯迴歸

用於判斷事件發生的機率,訓練數據中含有一個獨立變數,期望的輸出值則是介於 0 到 1 之間的值。當使用邏輯迴歸來訓練演算法時,它會根據獨立變數的值(輸入值)來預測相依變數的值(介於 0 到 1 之間)。邏輯迴歸使用經典的 S 型函數,而將邏輯迴歸用於監督型學習情境時,演算法會根據所提供的訓練數據,來估算 beta 係數值 b0 和 b1。

賠率 = e^(b0 + b1 * X)

邏輯迴歸的應用包括:

  • 判斷機率:邏輯迴歸的主要應用之一是判斷事件的發生可能性。任何事件的機率都在 0 到 1 之間,這就是邏輯函數的輸出值。機器學習中的邏輯迴歸演算法可用於預測選舉結果、自然災害以及其他此類事件的機率。
  • 分類:儘管邏輯迴歸使用連續函數,但它也可以應用於分類,例如用於圖像分割和相關分類問題。

多項式迴歸

多項式迴歸用於較複雜且不適合線性迴歸的數據集。演算法會使用複雜的附標記數據集來進行訓練,這些數據集可能不太適合線性迴歸,如果此類訓練數據與線性迴歸一起使用,可能會導致低度擬合,亦即演算法無法捕捉數據的真實趨勢。多項式迴歸允許迴歸線出現更大的曲度,而能更貼近相依變數和獨立變數之間的關係。

偏差 (Bias) 和變異 (Variance) 是與多項式迴歸有關的兩個重要術語。偏差是因為簡化了擬合函數而發生的模型誤差,變異則是由於使用過於複雜的函數來擬合數據而導致的誤差。

監督型學習的基本步驟

使用監督機器學習來執行和解決問題,必須:

  • 選擇訓練數據的類型:監督型學習的第一步是決定要使用何種性質的數據來進行訓練。例如,在筆跡分析的案例中,數據可以是單個字母、單詞或句子。
  • 收集和清理訓練數據:在此步驟中,從各種來源收集訓練數據,並經過嚴格的數據清理。
  • 選擇使用監督型學習演算法的模型:根據輸入數據的性質和所需用途,選擇分類或迴歸演算法。這可能是決策樹、支援向量機 (SVM)、貝氏演算法 (NB) 或隨機森林。選擇演算法的主要考慮因素包括訓練速度、記憶體用量、新數據的預測準確性、演算法的穿透性/詮釋能力。
  • 訓練模型:透過訓練數據的多次迭代,對擬合函數進行微調,以提高預測的準確性和速度。
  • 進行預測並評估模型:當擬合函數令人滿意時,就可以為演算法提供新的數據集,讓它進行新的預測。

最佳化和重新訓練模型:數據效力衰減是機器學習的自然過程,因此,必須定期使用更新的數據來重新訓練模型,以確保準確性。

What is Supervised Learning?

Supervised learning is a branch of machine learning, a method of data analysis that uses algorithms that iteratively learn from data to allow computers to find hidden insights without being explicitly programmed where to look. Supervised learning is one of three methods of the way machines “learn”: supervised, unsupervised, and optimization.

Supervised Learning Diagram

Supervised learning solves known problems and uses a labeled data set to train an algorithm to perform specific tasks. It uses models to predict known outcomes such as “What is the color of the image?” “How many people are in the image?” “What factors are driving fraud or product defects?” etc. For example, a supervised learning process could be to classify two-wheeler and four-wheeler vehicles from their images. The training data would have to be correctly labeled to identify if a vehicle is a two-wheeler or a four-wheeler. Supervised learning enables algorithms to ‘learn’ from historical/training data and apply it to unknown inputs to derive the correct output. Supervised learning uses Decision Trees, Random Forest, and Gradient Boosting Machine to operate.

In contrast, unsupervised learning is a type of machine learning that is used to identify new patterns and detect anomalies. The data that is fed into unsupervised learning algorithms is unlabeled. The algorithm (or models) try to make sense of the data on its own by finding features and patterns. A sample question that unsupervised machine learning could answer is “Are there new fraud clusters or buying patterns or failure modes emerging?” Unsupervised learning uses clustering, Principle Components, Neural Networks, and Support Vector Machines.

Optimization, the third type of machine learning, finds the best solution even when there are complex constraints. For instance, optimization could answer the question “What is the optimum route to take or allocation of resources or equipment maintenance schedule?” Optimization utilizes genetic algorithms, which is based on Darwin’s theory of evolution.

What is Classification in Supervised Learning?

There are two major types of supervised learning; classification and regression. Classification is where an algorithm is trained to classify input data on discrete variables. During training, algorithms are given training input data with a ‘class’ label. For example, training data might consist of the last credit card bills of a set of customers, labeled with whether they made a future purchase or not. When a new customer’s credit balance is presented to the algorithm, it classifies the customer to either ‘will purchase’ or ‘will not purchase’ group.

What is Regression in Supervised Learning?

In contrast with classification, regression is a supervised learning method where an algorithm is trained to predict an output from a continuous range of possible values. For example, real estate training data would take note of the location, area, and other relevant parameters. The output is the price of the specific real estate.

In regression, an algorithm needs to identify a functional relationship between the input parameters and the output. The output value is not discrete like in classification, instead it is a function of the input parameters. The correctness of a regression algorithm is calculated based on the variance between the accurate output and the predicted output.

Real-life Applications of Classification


Binary classification

This algorithm classifies input data into one of two possible groups. Often one of the classes indicates a ‘normal/desired’ state, and the other indicates an ‘abnormal/undesired’ state. Real-world applications of binary classification include:

Spam detection

The algorithm is given sample emails that are labeled as ‘spam’ or ‘not spam’ during the supervised learning phase. Later, when the algorithm is presented with a new email input, it predicts if the mail is a ‘spam’ or ‘not spam.’

Churn prediction

The algorithm uses a training data set of customers who have unsubscribed from a service earlier. Based on the training, the algorithm predicts if a new customer will end the subscription or not based on the input parameters.

Conversion prediction

The algorithm is trained with buyer data and if they bought the item or not. Then, based on this training, the algorithm predicts whether a new customer will make a purchase or not.

The main algorithms used for binary classification include logistic regression and support vector machines.

Multi-class Classification

In multi-class classification, the training data set is labeled with one of multiple possible classes. In contrast to the binary classification, a multi-class algorithm is trained with data that can be categorized into one of the many possible classes. The applications for multi-class classification include:

  • Face classification: Based on the training data, a model categorizes a photo and maps it to a specific person. One thing to note here, there might be a huge number of class labels. In this case, thousands of people.
  • Email classification: Multi-class classification is used to segregate emails into various categories – social, education, work, and family.
  • The main algorithms used for multi-class classification are Random Forest, Naive Bayes, Decision Trees, K-nearest neighbors, and Gradient Boosting.

Multi-label Classification

Unlike the binary and multi-class classification where the outcome has only one possible class, the multi-label output belongs to one or more classes. That means the same input data might be classified into different buckets. The applications of multi-label classification include:

  • Photo detection: In cases where photos have several objects, like a vehicle, animal, and persons, the photo might fall into multiple labels.
  • Audio/video classification: Songs and videos might fit into various genres and moods. Multi-label classification can be used to assign these multi labels.
  • Text categorization: It is possible to categorize articles based on its content.

Imbalanced Classification

This is a special case of binary classification, where there is an imbalance of classes in the training data set. Most of the examples in the training data belong to one set, and a small portion belongs to the second set. Unfortunately, most machine learning algorithms work best when there is an equal split between the classes. For instance, let’s say in your training data and you have 10,000 genuine customer transactions and only 100 fraudulent ones. To even out the accuracy, specialized techniques are needed due to the imbalance in the data. The applications of imbalanced classification could be:

  • Fraud detection: In the labeled data set used for training, only a small number of inputs are labeled as a fraud.
  • Medical diagnostics: In a large pool of samples, ones with a positive case of a disease might be far less.

Specialized techniques like cost-based approaches and sampling based approaches are used to help deal with imbalanced classification cases.

Real-life Applications of Regression


Linear regression

Linear regression in supervised learning trains an algorithm to find a linear relationship between the input and output data. It is the simplest model used where the outputs represent a linearly weighted combination of the outputs. Linear regression can be used to predict values within a continuous range, (e.g. sales, price - forecasting) or classifying them into categories (e.g. cat, dog - logistic regression). In the training data for linear regression, an input variable (independent) and a corresponding output variable (the dependent variable) are provided. From the labeled input data provided, the regression algorithm calculates the intercept and x-coefficient in the linear function. Applications of linear regression may include:

Forecasting: One of the most significant applications of linear regression is forecasting. The forecasting can be of different natures. Businesses use linear regression for forecasting sales or the buying behaviors of their customers. It is also used in predicting economic growth, real estate sales, and the prices of commodities like petroleum. Linear regression is also used in estimating the optimum salary for a new employee, based on the historical data of the salaries.

Logistic regression

Is used to determine the probability that an event will happen. The training data will have an independent variable, and the desired output would be a value between 0 and 1. Once the algorithm is trained with logistic regression, it can predict the value of a dependent variable (between 0 and 1) based on the value of the independent variable (input). Logistic regression uses the classic S-shaped sigmoid function. In logistic regression in the supervised learning context, an algorithm estimates the beta coefficient values b0 and b1 from the training data provided.

odds = e^(b0 + b1 * X)

Applications of logistic regression include:

  • Determining the probability: One of the main applications of logistic regression is to determine the likelihood of an event. The probability of any event lies between 0 and 1, and that is the output of a logistic function. Logistic regression algorithms in machine learning can be used to predict election results, probabilities of a natural calamity, and other such events.
  • Classification: Even though logistic regression uses a continuous function, some of its applications are in classification. It can be used for image segregation and related classification problems.

Polynomial regression

Polynomial regression is used for a more complex data set that will not fit neatly into a linear regression. An algorithm is trained with a complex, labeled data set that may not fit well under a straight line regression. If such training data is used with linear regression, it might cause under-fitting, where the algorithm is not capturing the true trends of the data. Polynomial regressions allow for more curvature in the regression line and hence a better approximation of the relationship between the dependent and independent variable.

Bias and variance are two main terms associated with polynomial regression. Bias is the error in modeling that occurs through simplifying the fitting function. Variance also refers to an error caused by using an over-complex function to fit the data.

The Basic Steps of Supervised Learning

To execute and solve a problem using supervised machine learning, one must:

  • Select the type of training data: The first step in supervised learning is to determine what is the nature of data to be used for the training. For example, in the case of handwriting analysis, this could be a single letter, a word, or a sentence.
  • Gather and cleanse the training data: In this step, the training data is collected from various sources and undergoes rigorous data cleansing.
  • Choose a model using a supervised learning algorithm: Based on the nature of the input data and the desired use, choose either a classification or regression algorithm. This might be Decision trees, SVM, Naïve Bayes, or Random Forest. The primary consideration while selecting an algorithm is the training speed, usage of memory, accuracy of the prediction on new data, and transparency/interpretability of the algorithm.
  • Train the model: The fitting function is fine-tuned through multiple iterations of training data to improve accuracy and the speed of prediction.
  • Make predictions and evaluate the model: Once the fitting function is satisfactory, the algorithm can be given new data sets to make new predictions.

Optimize and retrain the model: Data decay is a natural part of machine learning. Therefore, models must be regularly retrained with refreshed data to ensure accuracy.