什么是逻辑回归?

逻辑回归一种统计模型,用于确定事件发生的概率。它显示特征之间的关系,然后计算某种结果的概率。

逻辑回归图

逻辑回归用于机器学习 (ML) 来帮助创建准确的预测。它与线性回归类似,只是目标变量不是图形结果,而是二进制的,值为 1 或 0。

有两种类型的可衡量对象:解释性变量/特征(正在测量的项目)和响应变量/目标二进制变量(也就是结果)。

例如,当试图预测学生是否通过或未通过测试时,学习的时间就是特性,响应变量将有两个值:通过或未通过。

逻辑回归有三种基本类型:

  1. 二元逻辑回归:这里分类响应只有两种可能的结果。正如上面的例子所示 — 学生通过或未通过。
  2. 多项式逻辑回归:这里响应变量可以包含三个或更多变量,这些变量不会按任何顺序排列。一个例子是预测餐厅的食客是否喜欢某种食物 — 素食,肉食或纯素食。
  3. 序数逻辑回归:类似多项式回归,可以有三个或更多变量。但是,有一定的测量顺序。一个例子就是按 1 至 5 的等级对酒店进行评级。

用于逻辑回归的假设

在处理逻辑回归时,有一些假设。

  • 在二元逻辑回归中,响应变量必须是二进制变量。结果要么是一回事,要么是另一回事。
  • 期望的结果应以响应变量的因子水平 1 表示,不希望的用 0 表示。
  • 只能包括有意义的变量。
  • 独立变量基本上必须彼此独立。应该很少甚至没有多重共线性。
  • 对数赔率和独立变量必须线性相关。
  • 逻辑回归必须仅适用于大量样本数量。
你是哪个数据科学超级英雄?
你是哪个数据科学超级英雄?
下载此电子书,了解作为数据科学家让自己脱颖而出所需的六大技能吧。

逻辑回归的应用

有几个领域和方法可以使用逻辑回归,其中包括几乎所有的医疗和社会科学领域。

医疗

例如,创伤和伤害严重程度评分 (TRISS)。这在世界各地被用来预测受伤患者的死亡率。该模型是在应用逻辑回归的情况下开发的。它使用修订后的创伤评分、受伤严重程度评分和患者年龄等变量来预测健康结果。这是一种甚至可以用来预测一个人遭受某种疾病可能性的技术。例如,糖尿病和心脏病等疾病可以根据年龄、性别、体重和遗传因素等变量来预测。

政治

逻辑回归也可以用来尝试预测选举。民主党人、共和党人或独立领导人会在美国执政吗?这些预测是根据年龄、性别、居住地点、社会地位和以前的投票模式(变量)等变量进行的,以生成投票预测(响应变量)。

产品测试

逻辑回归可用于工程设计,以预测正在测试的系统或原型产品的成败。

营销

逻辑回归可用于预测客户询问转为销售的可能性、开始或终止订阅的可能性,甚至是客户对新产品线的潜在兴趣。

金融业

在金融业使用的一个例子是信用卡公司,该公司使用它来预测客户违约付款的可能性。构建的模型可能是为了向客户发放或者不发放信用卡。该模型可以说某个客户是 “默认” 还是 “非默认”。在银行业,这被称为 “默认倾向模型”。

电商

同样,电子商务公司大量投资于跨媒体的广告和促销活动。他们希望了解哪个广告活动最有效,哪个选项最有可能从潜在目标受众那里获得回应。模型集会将客户归类为 “响应者” 或 “无响应者”。这种模型被称为响应倾向建模。

借助来自逻辑回归产出的洞见,公司能够优化战略,实现业务目标,同时减少费用和损失。逻辑回归有助于最大限度地提高营销活动的投资回报率 (ROI),从长远来看,这对公司的利润有利。

逻辑回归的优缺点

优点

逻辑回归因效率极高且不需要大量的计算资源已被被广泛使用。它可以很容易地解释,不需要对输入特征进行缩放。规范化很简单,它提供的输出是经过精心校准的预测概率。

就像在线性回归中一样,当忽略与输出变量无关的属性和相关属性时,逻辑回归往往会更有效。因此,特征构造在逻辑和线性回归的效率方面可以发挥重要作用。

逻辑回归也很容易实现,训练起来简单,这也其成为帮助衡量其他复杂算法性能的良好基准的原因。

缺点

逻辑回归不能用于解决非线性问题,而且遗憾的是,当前许多系统都是非线性的。此外,逻辑回归并不是目前最强大的算法。有几种替代方案可以生成更好、更复杂的预测。

逻辑回归还在很大程度上依赖于数据显示。这意味着,除非您已经确定了所有必要的独立变量,否则输出是没有价值的。由于结果是离散的,逻辑回归只能用于预测绝对结果。最后,它是一种容易出现过度拟合的算法。

What is Logistic Regression?

Logistic regression is a statistical model that Is used to determine the probability that an event will happen. It shows the relationship between features, and then calculates the probability of a certain outcome.

Logistic Regression Diagram

Logistic regression is used in machine learning (ML) to help create accurate predictions. It is similar to linear regression, except rather than a graphical outcome, the target variable is binary; the value is either 1, or 0.

There are two types of measurables, the explanatory variables/ features (item being measured) and the response variable/ target binary variable, which is the outcome.

For example, when trying to predict whether a student will pass or fail a test, the hours studied are the feature, and the response variable will have two values - pass or fail.

There are three basic kinds of logistic regression:

  1. Binary logistic regression: Here there are only two possible outcomes for the categorical response. As in the example above – a student passes or fails.
  2. Multinomial logistic regression: This is where the response variables can include three or more variables, which will not be in any order. An example is predicting whether diners at a restaurant prefer a certain kind of food – vegetarian, meat or vegan.
  3. Ordinal logistic regression: Like multinomial regression, there can be three or more variables. However, there is an order the measurements follow. An example is rating a hotel on a scale of 1 to 5.

Assumptions Used for Logistic Regression

When working with logistic regression, there are certain assumptions that are made.

  • In binary logistic regression, it is necessary that the response variable is a binary. The outcome is either one thing, or another.
  • The desired outcome should be represented by the factor level 1 of the response variable, the undesired is 0.
  • Only variables that are meaningful must be included.
  • Independent variables have to essentially be independent of one another. There should be little to no multi-co-linearity.
  • Log odds and independent variables have to be linearly related.
  • Logistic regression must be applied only to massive sample sizes.

Applications of Logistic Regression

There are several fields and ways in which logistic regression can be used and these include almost all fields of medical and social sciences.

Healthcare

For example, the Trauma and Injury Severity Score (TRISS). This is used across the world to predict fatality in injured patients. This model has been developed with the application of logistic regression. It uses variables such as the revised trauma score, injury severity score, and the age of patient to predict health outcomes. It is a technique that can even be used to predict the possibility of a person being afflicted by a certain disease. For example, ailments like diabetes and heart disease can be predicted based on variables such as age, gender, weight and genetic factors.

Politics

Logistic regression can also be used to attempt to predict elections. Will a Democrat, Republican or Independent leader come to power in the USA? These predictions are made on the basis of variables such as age, gender, place of residence, social standing and previous voting patterns (variables) to produce a vote prediction (response variable).

Product testing

Logistic regression can be used in engineering to predict the success or failure of a system that is being tested, or a prototype product.

Marketing

LR can be used to predict the chances of a customer’s enquiry turning into a sale, the possibility of a subscription being started or terminated, or even potential customer interest in a new product line.

Financial sector

An example of use in the financial sector is in a credit card company that uses it to predict the likelihood that a customer will default on their payments. The model built could be for the issuance of a credit card to a customer or not. The model can say whether a certain customer will “default” or “not default”. This is known as the “default propensity modeling” in banking terms.

E-commerce

Much along the same lines, e-commerce companies invest heavily in advertising and promotional campaigns across media. They want to see which campaign is the most effective and the option most likely to get a response from their potential target audience. The model set will categorize the customer as a “responder” or “non responder”. This model is called propensity to respond modeling.

With insights that come from logistic regression outputs, companies are able to optimize their strategies and achieve business goals with reduction in expenses as well as losses. Logistic regressions help to maximize return on investment (ROI) in marketing campaigns, a benefit to the bottom line of a company in the long run.

Advantages and Disadvantages of Logistic Regression

Advantages

Logistic Regression is widely used because it is extremely efficient and does not need huge amounts of computational resources. It can be interpreted easily and does not need scaling of input features. It is simple to regularize, and the outputs it provides are well-calibrated predicted probabilities.

Just as it does in linear regression, logistic regression tends to work more efficiently when attributes unrelated to the output variable and those that are correlated, are omitted. Feature engineering therefore has an important role to play in the efficacy of performance of logistic and linear regression.

Logistic regression is also easily implemented and simple to train and that’s what makes it a great baseline to help measure the performance of other complex algorithms.

Disadvantages

Logistic regression cannot be used to solve nonlinear problems and unfortunately, many of today’s systems are nonlinear. Additionally, logistic regression is not the most powerful algorithm available. There are several alternatives that can create much better, more complex predictions.

Logistic regression also relies heavily on data presentation. This means that unless you have identified all the necessary independent variables, the output is of no value. With an outcome that is discrete, logistic regression can only be used to predict a categorical outcome. And finally, it is an algorithm with a known history of vulnerability to over-fitting.