什么是学习分析?

学习分析描述了使用数据了解学习者的需求并相应地改善教育服务。它可以用来测试不同学习方法的有效性、跟踪学生的进度和确定需要改进的领域,并让教育工作者深入了解最成功的策略。学习分析使用数据挖掘、分析和人工智能 (AI) 等技术来改善学习体验,并通过依托数据的方法更好地支持学生。通过学习分析,机构可以看到学生成绩、在学率和毕业率都有所提高。

学习分析图

学习分析涉及收集学校和大学数据、衡量学生在不同领域或科目中的理解和成功情况、评估最适合教育工作者的资源和后续策略。分析可为教育工作者提供支持,并帮助他们了解学生的问题领域和学习机会。这是一种数据驱动的教育方法,因为并非每个学生都有相同的问题或以相同的方式学习。学习分析可以帮助教育工作者个性化他们的计划,以解决这些特定需求和挑战。许多平台为学生提供个性化的结果和建议,这既可帮助教师制定未来的课程计划,同时也让学生更好地了解自己的学习重点。

学习分析可以使用学校、大学、在线来源、政府和其他教育机构收集的大数据。这些海量数据源一旦挖掘,就可为改善教育成果提供了一个极佳机会。遗憾的是,由于将大数据分析应用于学习环境是相当新的,这些资源往往没有得到开发或充分利用。但是,随着更多机构为此特定目的聘请分析师,以及更多教育工作者参与到自助式分析中,学习分析将继续增长并利用数据改善教育状况。

要分析的学习数据的类型

学习分析可用于理解各种教育数据,包括但不限于以下内容:

  • 学生反馈调查:来自学生和毕业生的调查数据对于教育机构如何评估教育工作者表现、解决问题领域以及提高学生满意度是非常有价值的。
  • 招生数据:大学通常对他们收到申请的人数、接受的百分比以及录取的学生人数感兴趣。
  • 考试分数:从基本绩效水平来看,教育工作者在考试成绩中可以看到哪些趋势是不同的学习策略导致的。
  • 毕业率:毕业率也经常被用作机构从更深层次了解其表现的基准。
  • 学生参与度:学生最喜欢哪些内容以及如何改进教育内容以提高参与度。
  • 关键绩效指标 (KPI):衡量学生成功率和教育效果。
开始使用学习分析
试试 TIBCO Spotfire-免费试用
借助市场上最完整的分析解决方案 TIBCO Spotfire,可以轻松发现您数据中的新见解。

学习分析的好处

学习分析对教育工作者和学生都有益。分析可以帮助研究最佳教学工具和策略,并帮助开发更佳的新学习方式,从而显著改善学生的体验。这些变化的影响可能对社会产生深远影响,因为更多的年轻人从个性化教育中受益,既提高了毕业率又传播了知识。

随着学习分析领域的增长,机构将依靠这些实践来充分利用自己的资源,付诸实践,促成学生的成功。因为在学生发展和提高效率方面的回报显著,如果机构不在分析上投入,就会错失机会。

总体而言,学习分析的主要好处是:

  • 充分利用有限资源:分析可以帮助资源有限的教育机构以更智能的数据驱动方式管理这些资源。这也有助于最大限度地发挥这些资源的影响,确保最宝贵的资源可利用,并降低其他不太必要的项目的优先级。
  • 加强问责制:教育工作者往往要对国家、家长或希望从教育中获得最大价值的学生负责。分析可以帮助量化该价值并衡量一段时间内的改善情况,以便教育工作者可以为他们对学生表现施加的影响提供支持。
  • 分享结果:学习分析的另一个好处是提高了教育方面的透明度。这种开放性不仅是在机构带来更好的学习方法,在许多实施这些分析计划结果的教育中心也同样如此。
  • 教育依托数据:学习分析有助于消除教育中的猜测。它可以帮助教育工作者充分了解他们的学生,并就如何应对他们最大的挑战和增长领域做出明智决策。
  • 赋权学生:学习分析的最有益但却被忽视的好处之一就是,将学习交回学生手中。它可以让学生了解他们不懂的东西。这样,他们就可以利用这些信息在课堂内外修正自己的学习策略。

如何实施学习分析

在实施学习分析时,有几个因素需要考虑,包括:

  • 自助式分析:如果教育机构希望为教育工作者推出一项分析计划以跟踪学生进度,则解决方案必须是真正的自助服务,并且教育工作者应接受有关其所有组成部分的适当培训。此外,为了使此类计划取得成功,组织必须推动数据驱动的文化,在这种文化中,教育工作者和机构领导人都致力于经常使用数据来推动变革。确保广泛采用分析计划对此类计划的成功至关重要。
  • 分析师/教育工作者沟通:如果机构聘用专门的分析师,或甚至是外包分析工作,那么这些分析师和使用数据的教育工作者之间必须有开放的沟通渠道。教育工作者仍需要关于如何实际操作的指导和培训。教育工作者需要了解如何成功利用提供给他们的信息,以及如何提出进一步的问题供分析师调查。
  • 数据隐私:教育机构不受数据隐私法规的豁免,并且必须遵守政府关于收集、分析、使用和共享学生和教师数据的准则。重要的是,处理数据的教育工作者必须了解隐私准则,并对如何维护个人信息隐私进行适当的培训。例如,在外部共享此类数据时,机构应确保数据是匿名的,以便学生和教师的个人信息得到保护。
  • 使用机器学习实现自动化:一些机构甚至可以考虑将分析学生数据和报告这些发现的过程自动化。借助机器学习,分析解决方案可以钻研预先确定的问题,为学生或教育工作者提出最佳后续行动的建议,甚至可以在学习领域需要特别关注时发送自动提醒或通知。

What is Learning Analytics?

Learning analytics describes the use of data to understand learners’ needs and improve educational services accordingly. It can be used to test the effectiveness of different learning techniques, track students’ progress and identify areas for improvement, and give educators insight into the most successful tactics. Learning analytics uses technologies such as data mining, analytics, and artificial intelligence (AI) to improve the learning experience and better support students with data-informed approaches. Through learning analytics, institutions can see an improvement in student grades, retention, and graduation rates.

Learning Analytics Diagram

Learning analytics deals with collecting school and university data, measuring students’ understanding and success in different areas or subjects, and assessing the resources and follow up strategies that work best for educators. Analytics can support educators and help them understand students’ problem areas and opportunities for learning. It’s a data-driven approach to educating because not every student has the same issues or learns in the same way. Learning analytics can help educators individualize their plans to address those specific needs and challenges. Many platforms provide personalized results and recommendations for students which can help both teachers in developing future lesson plans but also give the students better insight into where they should focus their studies.

Learning analytics can use big data collected by schools, universities, online sources, governments, and other educational institutions. These massive sources of data when mined provide a great opportunity to improve educational outcomes. Unfortunately, these resources are often untapped or underutilized as the application of big data analytics to learning environments is fairly new. But with more institutions hiring analysts for this specific purpose and more educators engaging with self-service analytics, learning analytics continues to grow and use data to improve education.

Types of Learning Data to Analyze

Learning analytics can be used to understand a variety of educational data, including but not limited to the following:

  • Student Feedback Surveys: Survey data from students and graduates can be extremely valuable in how educational institutions assess educator performance, address problem areas, and improve student satisfaction
  • Admissions Data: Universities are often interested in the number of applicants they receive, the percentage that is accepted, and how many accepted students attend
  • Exam Scores: From a basic performance level, what trends can educators see in exam scores as the result of different learning strategies
  • Graduation Rates: Graduation rates are also often used as a baseline for institutions to understand their performance from a high level
  • Student Engagement: What content students are engaging with the most and how educational content can be improved to raise that engagement
  • Key Performance Indicators (KPIs): Measurements of student success and educational effectiveness

Learning Analytics Benefits

Learning analytics benefits both educators and students. Analytics can help provide research on the best tools and strategies for teaching and assist in developing new, better ways of learning that significantly improve students’ experience. The impact of these changes can have far-reaching effects on society as more young people benefit from a personalized education, increasing graduation rates and spreading knowledge.

As the field of learning analytics grows, Institutions will come to rely on these practices to make the most of their resources and deliver on promised results for students’ success. It would be a missed opportunity for institutions to not invest in analytics because the return in terms of student development and improved effectiveness is significant.

Overall, the main benefits of learning analytics are:

  • Make the Most of Limited Resources: Analytics can help educational establishments with limited resources manage those resources in a smarter, data-driven way. This can also help maximize the impact of those resources, ensuring that the most valuable resources are available and deprioritizing other less necessary items.
  • Increase Accountability: Educators are often held accountable either by the state, by parents, or by the students themselves who want to get the most value out of their education. Analytics can help quantify that value and measure improvement over time so that educators can provide support for their impact on students’ performance.
  • Share Results: Another benefit of learning analytics is in the increased transparency it provides around education. This openness can lead to better methods of learning not just at the institution but across many educational centers that implement the findings from such analytic programs.
  • Data-Informed Education: Learning analytics helps take the guesswork out of education. It can help educators fully understand their students and make informed decisions on how to address their greatest challenges and areas for growth.
  • Empower Students: One of the most beneficial and yet overlooked benefits of learning analytics is the way it puts learning back into the hands of students. It can empower students to understand what they don’t understand. They can then use that information to revise their own study strategies inside and outside of the classroom.

How to Implement Learning Analytics

There are several factors to consider when implementing learning analytics, including:

  • Self-service Analytics: If an educational institution is looking to roll out an analytics program for educators to track student progress, the solution must be truly self-service and educators should be properly trained on all its components. Furthermore, for such a program to be successful, the organization must promote a data-driven culture where educators and leaders of the institution are committed to using data often and well to drive change. Ensuring widespread adoption of the analytics program is essential to the success of the initiative.
  • Analyst/Educator Communication: If the institution is hiring dedicated analysts or even outsourcing analysis work, there must be open channels of communication between those analysts and the educators using the data. Educators will still need instruction and training on how to do this. Educators need to understand how to successfully leverage the information given to them and how to ask further questions for the analysts to investigate.
  • Data Privacy: Educational institutions are not exempt from data privacy regulations and must abide by government guidelines for collecting, analyzing, using, and sharing student and faculty data. It is important that educators handling data are aware of privacy guidelines and properly trained on how to maintain privacy of personal information. For example, when such data is shared externally, institutions should ensure that the data is anonymized so that student and faculty personal information is protected.
  • Automation with Machine Learning: Some institutions may even consider automating the process of analyzing student data and reporting on those findings. With machine learning, analytic solutions can dig into predetermined questions, make recommendations for best next actions for the student or educator, and even send automated alerts or notifications if an area of learning needs special attention.