Vestas

Vestas

海量的数据降低了数据科学家和销售人员的工作效率,但如今,利用单一访问点,整个公司的用户都可以访问数据,缩短分析时间,快速解答客户的问题,进而达成更多交易。

Vestas

海量的数据降低了数据科学家和销售人员的工作效率,但如今,利用单一访问点,整个公司的用户都可以访问数据,缩短分析时间,快速解答客户的问题,进而达成更多交易。

"

在意识到我们需要利用合作伙伴的经验来解锁超级计算机中存储的海量数据时,我们就与 TIBCO 建立了合作关系。你要知道,TIBCO不仅仅只有Spotfire。它既处理流式数据,也充当企业总线和快捷的数据平台 (Fast Data platform)。这为我们创造了巨大的价值。

Sven Jesper Knudsen, Ph.D.
,
高级数据科学家

Trailblazer Award Winner

2017

Vestas 利用 Spotfire 加速风力发电

高效的自助式分析,帮助提高生产率并实现数据平民化

挑战

“Vestas 是一家生产风力涡轮机并提供相关服务的全球领先企业”,高级数据科学家 Sven Jesper Knudsen 博士表示,“涡轮机会生成大量数据,我们将分析该数据,适应不断变化的需求,并着手开发业界最佳的风能解决方案,实现能源成本最低化。

为保持领先,我们开发了一系列技术,利用庞大的数据存储和各种技术、通过分析来转化数据。这需要投入巨额成本。这需要维护和高度熟练的员工,但我们根本无法满足这些需求。市场已经成熟,为保持领先优势,我们需要采用新平台。

如果我们无法按时交付,这会让用户感到失望,整体业务将会下滑,服务费用将开始大量流失。例如,如果无法按时提交风险报告,我们将会在完全不了解风险状况的情况下做出决策。

我们的技术目标是更换给生态系统制造混乱的 Tableau、Microsoft Power BI 和 Excel,以及其他许多工具。由于我们拥有大量应用,因此,采用单一 Tableau 控制面板(并进行优化 — 例如)会非常困难。在尝试满足日益增长的需求时,我们往往会陷入困境 — 不仅仅分析是如此,用户体验也非常糟糕。”

解决方案

Knudsen 博士补充道:“我们需要单一访问点,用户可以在这里获得熟悉的体验,创建分析流程,进行完善,然后将其部署到整个企业。用户需要更加智能化的应用体验,利用下拉菜单并与它们背后的图表和系统进行交互。他们还需要这些来执行高级分析。他们不需要预配置的控制面板,因为在该面板中无法执行拖放操作,也无法像使用 TIBCO Spotfire® 一样与分析流程进行动态交互。

我们需要支持开放式标准的工具,因为任何开箱即用的算法虽然不错,但您需要对它进行微调。这是数据科学的核心,也可帮助公民数据科学家在现场执行高级分析。在意识到我们需要利用合作伙伴的经验来解锁超级计算机中存储的海量数据时,我们就与 TIBCO 建立了合作关系。你要知道,TIBCO不仅仅只有Spotfire。它既处理流式数据,也充当企业总线和快捷的数据平台 (Fast Data platform)。这为我们创造了巨大的价值。

"我们进行了一次庞大的概念验证,结果让人十分惊喜。我们有 12 个大型应用场景,由 Vestas 内部的四人团队进行管理。利用 TIBCO,我们在三个月内完成了该 POC,这符合我们的预期。”

效益

更快完成自助式分析

“我们肯定能够满足实时需求。其中一个情景是销售,这时我们需要预测风险。在使用 Spotfire 之前,分析师将接受请求,执行分析并通过电子邮件送出结果。由于需求发生变化,当电子邮件到达销售人员的收件箱时,已经为时已晚。销售人员感到非常不满,因为他手握百万美元的合同,但觉得我们并没有认真对待他的分析请求。

现在,销售人员可以利用按需分析完成整个分析过程。实际上,他可以与客户坐在一起,并解答相关问题。突然之间,我们可以为整个流程提供支持 — 实际上,这个过程对世界上最大的风力数据资产,10 年的数据进行了非常复杂的蒙特卡洛模拟 — 但他并不了解这点。谁会关心该过程呢?利用 Spotfire,这一切都成为了可能。”

 

员工生产力

“我们取得的一项业务效益,是员工生产力。过去,我们使用的是小型生态系统,并经常需要重新执行分析,因为我们无法有效地重复利用 Excel 文件或 Tableau 分析。现在,我们将使用 Spotfire 模板,与企业治理建立数据连接,并利用 TIBCO Spotfire® 统计服务提供的 R 库执行自助式高级分析。”

 

实现数据平民化

“我们对 Vestas 的所有数据进行了平民化处理,并立即获得了好处。现在,我们支持以下新领域中的应用场景:预测合同损失以便优先处理并规划服务资源、进行社交分析以了解市场影响,以及执行资源管理分析以规划和预测技术资源。”

未来

“我们在 Vestas 范围内执行的分析一直非常成功,但我们也需要进行内部考察,对这些分析进行管理,进一步改进用户服务。我们对一些分析进行了自动化处理,但通过应用商店的应用执行其他分析,通过它们,我们可以监视行为,并了解人们具体如何分析数据,以便提高该平台的智能化水平。”

Vestas 简介

Vestas 是全球唯一一家专门开发风能的能源公司,同时,公司还旨在提高商业案例的确定性,并帮助客户降低能源成本。

Vestas

Vestas is the only global energy company dedicated exclusively to wind energy—and to improving business case certainty and reducing the cost of energy for customers.

Vestas

Vestas is the only global energy company dedicated exclusively to wind energy—and to improving business case certainty and reducing the cost of energy for customers.

"

Our relationship with TIBCO began when it became very evident that we needed a partner with the experience to unlock the vast amount of data in our super computer. And TIBCO is so much more than just Spotfire, you know. It’s streaming data, the enterprise bus, the Fast Data platform. All that has a lot of value for us.

Sven Jesper Knudsen, Ph.D.
,
Senior Data Scientist

Vestas Spins Up Wind Generation with Spotfire

Efficient self-service analytics, greater productivity, democratized data

Challenge

“Vestas is a global market leader in manufacturing and servicing wind turbines,” explains Sven Jesper Knudsen, Ph.D., senior data scientist. “Turbines provide a lot of data, and we analyze that data, adapt to changing needs, and work to create a best-in-class wind energy solution that provides the lowest cost of energy.

“To stay ahead, we have created huge stacks of technologies—massive amounts of data storage and technologies to transform data with analytics. That comes at a cost. It requires maintenance and highly skilled personnel, and we simply couldn’t keep up. The market had matured, and to stay ahead we needed a new platform.

“If we couldn’t deliver on time, we would let users and the whole business down, and start to lose a lot of money on service. For example, if we couldn’t deliver a risk report on time, decisions would be made without actually understanding the risk landscape.

“The technology goal was to replace Tableau and Microsoft Power BI and Excel, and a lot of other tools that were creating a mess in our ecosystem. We had a massive number of applications, and it was very difficult to take the single Tableau dashboard, for example, and ramp up. When we were trying to accommodate added requirements, we often reached a dead end—and it was not only analytics. It was also very much the user experience.”

Solution

“We wanted a single point of access where users could have a familiar experience creating an analysis, maturing it, and then deploying it throughout the enterprise,” continues Dr. Knudsen. “Users want more of a smart app experience, with dropdown menus and interactions with graphs and the system behind them. They want that for advanced analytics, as well. They don’t want to have a preconfigured dashboard where you cannot drag and drop and dynamically interact with the analytics, like you can with TIBCO Spotfire®.

“We required a tool with open standards because any algorithm out-of-the-box is good, but you need to tweak it. It’s a core of data science and also enables the citizen data scientist to do advanced analytics on the spot. Our relationship with TIBCO began when it became very evident that we needed a partner with the experience to unlock the vast amount of data in our super computer. And TIBCO is so much more than just Spotfire, you know. It’s streaming data, the enterprise bus, the Fast Data platform. All that has a lot of value for us.

“We did a big proof of concept, and it was really amazing. We had 12 really big use cases we managed with a team of four inside Vestas. With TIBCO, we completed that POC within three months, and it met our expectations.”

Benefits

Faster, Self-Service Analytics

“We have definitely been able to meet real-time demand. One of the places is Sales where we need to deliver risk profiles. Before Spotfire, an analyst would take in a request, do the analysis, and send it out by email. When the email arrived in the sales person’s inbox, it was already too late because the requirements had changed. The sales guy isn’t happy because he sits there with his million dollar contract and doesn’t feel we’ve taken him seriously.

“Now, with on-demand analytics, the sales person does the whole analysis. He can actually sit with the client and answer questions. Suddenly, we’re supporting the process—and actually, what goes on is a very complicated Monte Carlo simulation on 10 years of data, the biggest wind data asset in the world—but he doesn’t know that. And who cares? With Spotfire, all that is possible.”

 

Workforce Productivity

“One of the business benefits is clearly workforce productivity. We used to work in small ecosystems and often needed to reinvent analyses because the Excel file or Tableau analysis could not be easily reapplied. Now we use Spotfire templates, data connections with enterprise governance, and self-service advanced analytics using R libraries served via TIBCO Spotfire® Statistical Services.”

 

Democratized Data

“We democratized data across Vestas, and the benefit was immediate. We now see use cases in new areas: forecasting of contractual losses for prioritizing and planning service resources, social analytics for understanding market influences, and resource management analytics to plan and forecast technology resources.”

Future

“We have been very successful with analytics across Vestas, but we also need to look inside and manage these analytics to serve the user much better. Some we automate, but others we’re providing on the app store where we can monitor behavior and see how people actually analyze the data, so we can make it a much more intelligent platform.”