Hemlock Semiconductor

Hemlock Semiconductor

Hemlock Semiconductor 為全球知名多晶矽製造商,需要加速大幅改善製程並降低成本。Hemlock 可運用 TIBCO® Connected Intelligence 獲得集中化自助式控管分析功能、提高收益、降低成本等諸多裨益。

Hemlock Semiconductor

Hemlock Semiconductor 為全球知名多晶矽製造商,需要加速大幅改善製程並降低成本。Hemlock 可運用 TIBCO® Connected Intelligence 獲得集中化自助式控管分析功能、提高收益、降低成本等諸多裨益。

"

TIBCO 讓我們以前所未有的方式連接數據,有助更妥善管理維護事宜並規劃改善事項。我們對工作效率有把握,並能夠追蹤效能,這正是推動改善的關鍵要素。

Hemlock Semiconductor 營運部專案經理
,
Kevin Britton

Trailblazer Award Winner

2019

Hemlock Semiconductor 大幅改善產量並降低成本,藉此提高全球競爭力

大幅改善製程、降低成本,並提高使用者採用情形

Powered by AWS logo

 

 

人們每天用來保持聯絡的現代化方法均仰賴高品質多晶矽。多晶矽是半導體與太陽能產業的主要原物料,用來製造矽晶圓和其他基板,以打造人們每天使用的各種裝置,例如智慧型手錶、智慧型手機、平板電腦、桌面電腦、物聯網裝置、太陽能電池等等。

多晶矽是透過高等級化學純化流程製造而成,需以極高溫度蒸餾化合物來分解出矽。傳統上,電子產品的多晶矽需要的不純物等級必須低於十億分之一 (ppb),不過現今純度較低的多晶矽可用於太陽能產業,製造太陽能電池。

製造多晶矽原料的一路上是充滿險阻。必須持續保持近乎完美的純度、採取行動以降低耗電量,以及降低成本來提高獲利,這表示業內公司必須承擔一定程度的風險。這些是 Hemlock Semiconductor Operations (HSC) 面臨的主要障礙。

從最佳化生產到維持市佔率

多晶矽製造業百家爭鳴,而 Hemlock 能夠持續產出高品質且可靠程度數一數二的多晶矽,是深受全球許多買家青睞的合作夥伴。然而,HSC 正持續尋找創新的方法,同時保持在全球業界的競爭力。

多晶矽是商品,價格上的彈性不大。HSC 專注於降低製造成本的話,就能提高獲利。Hemlock Semiconductor Operations 計劃經理 Kevin Britton 表示:「要將多晶矽商品化,就需要嚴格控管成本結構。」

最佳化多晶矽製造的方法這比大部分製程要複雜得多,需要達成 99.999999999% 的純度才能達成客戶期望。必須準確最佳化製程元件之間的作用,才能大幅提昇產能與工廠效能。製程的變動性可能導致不純度提高,並降低產能。為了避免發生這類小錯,HSC 必須持續改善自家製程,確保達成最佳結果。

Hemlock Semiconductor Operations 的 CIO Keith Carey 說道:「我們必須充分利用我們持續產出的大量數據,此事勢在必行。我們需要進一步探究內部製程來了解如何改善品質、改善成本,以及發揮新潛在業務模型的優勢。」

要解決成本、品質及對話在營運上的聯合挑戰,HSC 需要能加強長期獲利性及競爭性的策略。TIBCO 技術準備派上用場,讓一切成真。

控制成本、大幅提高產量及節能

HSC 起初專注於降低整體成本結構,以維持長期價格競爭力。成本管理需要分析製程中每個步驟的數據,藉此更充分了解反應爐的溫度、壓力及用電量,並加以量化。

當時,HSC 能夠透過實施即時流程監控與控管功能來大幅提高輸出、效率及品質,藉此重新整頓製程。

接下來的挑戰,在於如何大幅提高產品品質。這就表示,要實施一個能夠偵測製程異常情況的平台。Hemlock 先前的基礎設施是一個重大障礙,因為許多公司數據都卡在數據孤島與舊版系統之中,無法滿足現代化數據要求。現在,系統偵測到異常情況時,HSC 就能做好更充分的準備來存取數據,準確了解是哪一項變量造成問題。建立出這樣的因果關係後,即可採取行動,避免製程瑕疵情形捲土重來。

HSC 已能具體掌控產品品質,多晶矽市場也在近年來出現大幅成長,擴展至其他額外市場,而這些市場會根據應用情境的不同而需要品質各異的產品。例如,最高品質的多晶矽還是用於半導體產業,而太陽能面板可以使用純度較低的多晶矽製造。HSC 能夠善用這樣的市場客群,因為其能夠以數據為中心審視自家製程,進一步在正確的市場向適當的人員賣出適合的產品,進一步大幅改進產能。

接著來談談大幅改善耗電量的部分。HSC 2020 年永續性報告表明 TIBCO 有助支持公司的永續性目標與獲利性,其中說道:「TIBCO Spotfire 為 HSC 提供最佳化的推展計劃與控制項,讓我們對廠房製程與耗電量有更精細的了解。HSC 發起了尖峰用電管理計劃,並運用 TIBCO Spotfire Data Science 以視覺化方式呈現效能與進行最佳化。尖峰用電管理會於離峰時段在更多資產上運行,在耗電量達到高峰時降低用電需求。此計劃不僅讓公司的電力設施更妥善地管理整體需求,也替 HSC 省下了每月 $300,000 的成本。」

Carey 表示:「我們是密西根耗電量最大的單一公司,也在致力追求能源節約計劃。我們發現 TIBCO 的 Spotfire 軟體是提高用電效率的關鍵工具。結果令我們刮目相看,數據科學產品也有助我們達到目標。」

積極管理製程

要能夠更迅速制定決策、偵測產品不純情形並加以避免,以及能夠根據多晶矽品質來決定產能,也是我們的重點所在。HSC 是著名的產業領導者,不過仍需針對全球商品化多晶矽市場維持整體成本的競爭性,這是企業能否持續獲利的關鍵。因此,公司無法承受因制定決策的速度緩慢與製程瓶頸,導致成本最佳化的任何面向遭遇瓶頸的後果。

現在,自訂數據視覺化技術讓 HSC 能夠掌握製程的各方面,即便再微小之處也不放過。額外的即時警示可相輔相成,讓 HSC 人員以前所未有的更快速度回應關鍵產線狀況。此解決方案不僅可立即警示人員以協助 HSC 降低成本與避免製程浪費,還打開更多可能性,可運用改善製程的多項專案。

Kevin Britton 表示:「TIBCO 讓我們以前所未有的方式連接數據,協助我們更妥善管理維護事宜並規劃改善事項。我們能對工作效率有把握並追蹤效能,這正是推動改善的關鍵要素。這樣數據導向的手法也能延伸至我們持續改善的製程本身。

我們現在能更為妥善地即時掌握情況,不僅僅是操作人員,還能掌握進度是否符合專案的預期進度。這讓我們更以視覺化方式了解自身產能,並針對即將到來專案的時間建立模型。多虧進階的工具,能夠結合多個來源的複雜數據呈現出視覺化效果,才讓一切化為可能。」

TIBCO 讓 HSC 從被動反應轉變為積極管理製程,協助公司探索全新業務機會。

Carey 說道:「我們正從老舊的靜態數據轉移至更符合直覺且即時的數據。我們必須能夠檢視自家的內部資訊來詳細瞭解各項成本,並將外部資訊一併納入考量,藉此獲益於新的潛在業務模型,例如在現貨市場提供多餘材料等。」

強化產業領導地位的技術基礎

HSC 以較小規模實施 TIBCO Spotfire 分析功能後,即開始專注於成本。此解決方案為 HSC 以視覺化方式呈現製程中的阻礙。發生異常情況時,可迅速指出設備有哪些需要排除障礙的部分,並通知公司人員。也可用於進行預防性情境分析,以近乎即時的方式模擬流程變更造成的影響。

智慧型數據分析功能讓 HSC 對自家的複雜製程與營運流程有更全面的掌握,不過需要 HSC 的系統、製程、機台等全部連線,這些元素才能發揮穩健成效。這也是 TIBCO 整合功能派上用場的時候。HSC 一開始只有幾個重要分析要求,最終揭露了數據全面連接的重要性,是更清晰且全面掌控業務的關鍵所在。

Carey 表示:「我們一開始只找出六到七個需要整合的使用案例,希望能隨著時間推展。第一個是製造整合:如何將製造現場與 ERP 系統與業務系統相互連結?此作法為我們產生了大量數據。我們不僅僅是分析系統,進而掌握了先前了解受限的部分,還能更充分了解庫存程度等面向。公司業務需要發展,而這正是值得我們深入探索的平台。這也是我們投資 TIBCO 的另一原因。」

HSC 發現系統間強力整合的助益良多,能帶來更多資訊,藉此擴展分析內容帶來的影響、實用性及廣度。市場動態、業務模型及客戶需求瞬息萬變,HSC 的能力也能快速因應,提供更吸引人的分析洞見,有助以可擴展且永續的方式帶來更多使用案例,並讓公司滿懷信心。

HSC 的初次嘗試即大獲成功,因此進一步使用 TIBCO Connected Intelligence 平台。TIBCO 為 Hemlock 的 Center of Excellence 提供技術支援,為其與 SAP S4/HANA 系統的整合計劃奠定基礎。Center of Excellence 匯聚了各式各樣的整合、分析及數據管理工具,可互相搭配來強化 HSC 的基礎架構,並提供進階分析能力,包括數據科學與虛擬化、串流分析,以及自助式工具。

與 SAP S4 HANA 整合,表示可即時複寫資訊,並透過一連串的運算視圖交給廣大的 HSC 使用者社群。TIBCO 也會及時簡化資訊的交付與傳輸作業,為 HSC 帶來更豐厚的紅利。TIBCO 除了是 HSC 基礎設施的基礎工具外,也提供自身專業知識與持續支援,確保平台繼續順利運作。HSC 現在可處理多樣化的使用案例,包括製造整合、B2B 及託管 API,讓客戶得以在安全的環境中取用數據。

大幅提高所有角色的所有數據價值

HSC 身為綿長供應鏈的其中一個製造商,會與數個合作夥伴分享數據,這一點十分難能可貴。

Carey 表示:「TIBCO 大大改進了我們向使用者提供詳細業務與營運數據的方式,而不必再讓他們苦苦等待。自助式服務是我們 IT 策略的關鍵元素。」

HSC 可運用 TIBCO 取用與分析累積多年的數據。相較之下,先前以工作表型的數據整頓方法僅限提供 90 天的數據。

Britton 說道:「我們現在能掌握過去難以了解的製程,也能積極探詢極為複雜的問題,藉此將每個製程調整到最佳狀態。」

TIBCO Connected Intelligence 平台具即時性且十分動態,能讓團隊一同解決問題,並著手調查根本原因,全都有賴即時數據才能完成。最重要的是,只要短短數秒就能存取分析內容,有效協助 HSC 孕育以數據驅動的文化。這樣的文化轉移改變了公司銷售構想、解決問題及透過腦激盪發想出解決方案的方式。TIBCO 成了推動數據導向環境的催化劑,解決方案可以與數據一併產生,而非由數據支援。TIBCO 解決方案已經成為公司不可或缺的一部分,會定期用於會議、討論與簡報。

Carey 說道:「我們現在能以團隊身分協同合作,即時探究數據以解決問題。我們能夠運用數據和 Spotfire 平台來快速學習並從失敗中獲取教訓,和過去的作法截然不同。」

TIBCO 計劃全面整合的下一階段

多晶矽市場開始經歷震盪時,HSC 便知道需要轉型來維持領先地位。TIBCO Connected Intelligence 平台可協助將基礎設施現代化,並提供制定更快且更聰明的決策所需的敏捷性,協助 HSC 樂於接納這番轉變。HSC 從一開始便選擇與 TIBCO 攜手合作,有助了解如何大幅改善自身業務的眾多面向。

HSC 對自身能力懷抱許多日後發展願景,包括更穩健的主要數據管理系統、製造業數位分身、擴展數據科學應用程式,以及透過數據串流改善對即時警示的回應性。HSC 希望在接下來幾年讓數據可對 AI 準備就緒,並可供 B2B 使用者取用。

HSC 不僅可以視覺化方式呈現製造成本並加以最佳化,也能大幅提高產品品質與數量,並協助創造更可靠的工作空間,因此對與 TIBCO 攜手合作胸有成竹,深信 TIBCO 可為未來發展提供鼎力支援。

Carey 表示:「我們絕佳的開發速度和堅實的解決方案,是 HSC 未來的重要關鍵。有了 TIBCO Connected Intelligence 平台,絕對讓我們如虎添翼。我們選擇與 TIBCO 攜手合作後多次獲獎,證明當初的選擇正確無誤:我們選擇了最適合的工具,並與文化上最合拍的公司攜手合作。我們在下一階段將與 TIBCO 計劃全面整合,因此對於未來發展萬分期待。」

Hemlock Semiconductor

Hemlock Semiconductor

Global producer of polycrystalline silicon for semiconductors, Hemlock Semiconductor needed to accelerate process optimization and eliminate cost. With TIBCO® Connected Intelligence, Hemlock achieved centralized, self-service, governed analysis; revenue gains; cost savings; and more.

Hemlock Semiconductor

Global producer of polycrystalline silicon for semiconductors, Hemlock Semiconductor needed to accelerate process optimization and eliminate cost. With TIBCO® Connected Intelligence, Hemlock achieved centralized, self-service, governed analysis; revenue gains; cost savings; and more.

"

With TIBCO, we're connecting data in ways we never could before, which helps us better manage maintenance and plan improvements. We are able to confirm where we are doing things most efficiently and track our performance, which is a key enabler to being able to improve.

Kevin Britton
,
Program Manager, Hemlock Semiconductor Operations

Trailblazer Award Winner

2019

Hemlock Semiconductor Increases Global Competitiveness by Optimizing Output and Lowering Costs

Optimizing processes, reducing costs, and increasing user adoption

Powered by AWS logo

 

 

On a daily basis, everyone who uses modern methods to stay connected depends on quality polysilicon. Polycrystalline silicon, or polysilicon, is the primary raw material for the semiconductor and solar industries. It is used to create silicon wafers and other substrates for building a wide range of devices that people use every day, including smartwatches, cell phones, tablets, computers, Internet of Things devices, solar cells, and many others.

Polysilicon is produced through a high-level chemical purification process that involves the distillation of compounds that decompose into silicon at extreme temperatures. Traditionally, polysilicon for electronic products requires impurity levels of less than one part per billion (ppb), though today slightly less pure polysilicon can be used by the solar industry to manufacture solar cells.

Manufacturing raw polysilicon material is fraught with obstacles. Ensuring consistent near-perfect purity levels, taking steps to reduce energy consumption and keeping costs low due to the commoditized nature of the product means industry players must take on a certain amount of risk. These were the main obstacles faced by Hemlock Semiconductor Operations (HSC).

From Optimizing Production to Maintaining Market Share

In the highly competitive industry of polysilicon manufacturing, Hemlock's ability to consistently produce the highest quality, most reliable polysilicon has positioned it as the partner of choice for many buyers around the world. However, HSC is continuously looking for ways to innovate to remain competitive in the global industry.

Because polysilicon is a commodity, there is little flexibility in pricing. By focusing on reducing manufacturing costs, HSC was able to increase its profitability. "Commoditization in the polysilicon industry requires tight control of our cost structure," said Kevin Britton, program manager at Hemlock Semiconductor Operations.

Optimizing polysilicon production is far more complex than most manufacturing processes. Purity levels of 99.999999999 percent are required to meet most customer expectations. The interaction among process components, must be precisely optimized to maximize yield and plant efficiency. Process variability can lead to higher impurity levels and lower yields. With such a small margin of error, HSC must drive continuous improvement of its manufacturing processes to ensure it is achieving the best possible outcomes.

"Being able to fully utilize the vast volumes of data that we continuously generate became imperative," said Keith Carey, CIO at Hemlock Semiconductor Operations. "We needed to dive deeper into our internal processes to understand how to improve quality while controlling our costs, and take advantage of potential new business models."

To solve the joint operational challenges of cost, quality, and conservation, HSC needed a strategy that would strengthen its long-term profitability and competitive positioning. TIBCO technology was the key to making it a reality.

Controlling Costs, Maximizing Output, and Conserving Energy

HSC's first focus was on lowering its overall cost structure to ensure long-term price competitiveness. Cost management required analyzing data from each step of the manufacturing process to better understand and quantify the impacts of temperature, pressure, and energy usage in the reactor process.

HSC then was able to re-engineer its manufacturing process by implementing real-time process monitoring and control in order to maximize output, efficiency, and quality.

The next challenge was to address the maximization of product quality. This meant implementing a platform capable of detecting process anomalies. Hemlock's previous infrastructure was a significant obstacle, as much of the company's data was stuck in silos and legacy systems that couldn't keep pace with modern data requirements. But now, when an anomaly is detected, HSC can more readily access data to see precisely which variable may have caused the problem. Once these cause-and-effect relationships are identified, actions are made to prevent process defects from happening again.

While HSC gained a significant handle on its product quality, the market for polysilicon experienced huge growth in recent years, expanding into additional markets requiring different levels of quality based on the nature of the application. For example, the highest quality polysilicon is still used for semiconductors, while solar panels can be made with less pure polysilicon. HSC was able to take advantage of this market segmentation because it had built a data-centric view of its manufacturing processes, allowing it to further optimize its yield by selling the right product to the right market at the right price.

Then came the optimization of energy consumption. HSC's 2020 Sustainability Report reveals how TIBCO helped support the company's sustainability goals and profitability. As stated in the report, "TIBCO Spotfire provides HSC with optimized rollouts and controls for a sophisticated understanding of site processes and energy use. HSC initiated a peak power management program and leveraged TIBCO Spotfire data science to visualize and optimize our performance. Peak power management runs more of our assets during off-peak hours, lowering our demand on the electric grid when consumption is the highest. This program has not only allowed our electric utility to better manage its total demand, but it has also saved HSC approximately $300,000 per month."

"We're Michigan's largest single energy user, and we are pursuing energy efficiency programs. We found TIBCO's Spotfire software to be one of the critical tools to increase energy efficiency. We’re impressed with the results and the data science product that helped us get there," Carey said.

Proactively Managing the Manufacturing Process

The ability to make faster decisions, to detect and prevent product impurities, and to have the agility to pivot production yield based on the quality of the polysilicon was another major focus area. While HSC is an established industry leader, maintaining overall cost competitiveness on the commoditized global polysilicon market is crucial to the continued profitability of its business. Thus, the company couldn’t afford to allow slow decision-making and production bottlenecks to hinder any aspect of cost optimization.

Today, custom data visualizations allow HSC to understand the most granular aspects of its manufacturing processes. The addition of real-time alerting as a complement to that capability has empowered HSC’s workforce to respond to critical production line situations much faster than previously possible. Not only did this solution help HSC lower costs and prevent excess production of waste by alerting personnel right away, it opened the door to projects that improved the manufacturing process.

"With TIBCO, we're connecting data in ways we never could before, which helps us better manage maintenance and plan improvements," said Kevin Britton. "We are able to confirm where we are doing things most efficiently and track our performance, which is a key enabler to being able to improve. This data-driven approach also extends to our continuous improvement process itself.

We're now able to better see, in real time, not only what people are working on, but how our progress tracks to our expectations of how those projects should go. It also allows us to better visualize our capacity and do future modeling for timing of upcoming projects. This is now possible because our tools have advanced to be able to combine fairly complex data from multiple sources for visualization."

By allowing HSC to move from a reactive to a more proactive management of the manufacturing process, TIBCO helped the company discover new business opportunities.

"We're moving from archaic, static data to more intuitive, realtime data," Carey said. "We needed to be able to look at our internal information to understand costs in more detail and bring in external information so we could take advantage of potential new business models, such as offering excess material on the spot market."

A Technology Foundation to Reinforce Industry Leadership

HSC's focus on cost began with a smaller-scale implementation of TIBCO Spotfire analytics. The solution provided HSC with a real-time visual representation of gaps in the manufacturing process. When anomalies occurred, it can quickly pinpoint which piece of equipment needed troubleshooting and alert company personnel. It can also be used to perform what-if scenario analyses to model the impact of process changes in near real-time.

While intelligent data analytics enabled greater control over HSC's complex manufacturing and operational processes, these elements would not be nearly as robust without a universal connectivity of HSC’s systems, processes, machinery, and more. That's where TIBCO integration came into play. HSC began with several important analytic requirements that ultimately revealed how the ubiquitous connectivity of data was critical to a cleaner and more comprehensive view of its business.

"We had six or seven use cases for integration that we identified and wanted to roll out over time," Carey said. "The first one was manufacturing integration: how do we connect the shop floor to the ERP system and business system? That has generated lots of data for us. We’re not only analyzing systems into which we previously had limited visibility, we better understand inventory levels, and more. It’s a platform that we can grow into as our business needs evolve. That’s another reason for our investment in TIBCO."

HSC realized that strong integration across systems empowered it with even more information to which it was able to extend the impact, usefulness, and breadth of its analytics. As market dynamics, business models, and customer demands were changing, so too was HSC’s ability to provide more compelling analytic insights that enabled it to expand with additional use cases, in a scalable and sustainable way, with greater confidence.

The success of HSC’s initial efforts also led to an expanded use of the TIBCO Connected Intelligence platform. TIBCO powers Hemlock's Center of Excellence, which lays the foundation for its integration program and SAP S4/HANA system. The Center of Excellence brings together myriad integration, analytics, and data management tools that work together to strengthen HSC's underlying architecture. It provides advanced analytics capabilities, including data science and virtualization, streaming analytics, and other self-service tools.

This integration with SAP S4/HANA means that information can be replicated in real time and exposed to a wider HSC user community through a series of calculation views. TIBCO simplifies the delivery and transportation of information in a timely manner, which results in large dividends for HSC. Beyond being the foundational tool beneath HSC's infrastructure, TIBCO also lends its expertise and ongoing support to ensure continued success with the platform. HSC can now handle a variety of use cases—including manufacturing integration, B2B, and hosting APIs—that allows its customers to consume its data in a safe and secure environment.

Maximizing the Value of All Data, Across All Roles

As a manufacturer of one component in a longer supply chain, HSC has several partners with whom sharing data is a valuable capability.

"TIBCO has advanced the way we provide detailed business and operational data to our end users without them having to wait. Self-service capability is a key component of our IT strategy," said Carey.

With TIBCO, HSC can consume and analyze multiple years of data, compared to previous spreadsheet-based data-wrangling methods that were limited to just 90 days of data.

"We now have visibility into processes that were very difficult to see before and can pursue answers to the really complex questions that enable us to optimally tune each process,” Britton said.

Because the TIBCO Connected Intelligence platform is live and dynamic, it allows teams to come together to solve problems and perform root cause investigations*#8212;all enabled by real-time data. Most importantly, it has helped HSC foster a data-driven culture with analytics that can be accessed in seconds. This cultural shift has changed the way the company sells ideas, solves problems, and brainstorms solutions. TIBCO has become the catalyst toward shifting to a data-driven environment where solutions are made alongside data, not just supported by data. TIBCO solutions have become an integral part of the company, routinely being used in meetings, discussions, and presentations.

"Now, we collaborate as one team and dig into the data in real-time to solve problems," Carey said. "Enabled by data and the TIBCO platform, the speed at which we learn and fail fast is significantly different from the past."

The Next Phase of the All-in with TIBCO Plan

When the polysilicon market began experiencing disruption, HSC knew it had to transition to maintain its leadership. TIBCO’s Connected Intelligence platform helped HSC embrace the disruption by modernizing its infrastructure and providing the agility it needed to make faster, smarter decisions. From the very beginning, partnering with TIBCO helped HSC understand how to optimize numerous aspects of its business.

HSC has several capabilities in mind for the future, including a more robust master data management system, a manufacturing digital twin, the expansion of its data science applications, and an improved responsiveness to real-time alerts enabled by data streaming. In the next few years, HSC hopes to make its data AI-ready and consumable for B2B end users.

From the ability to visualize and optimize production costs to maximizing product quality and quantity and helping create a more reliable workspace, HSC is confident in its partnership with TIBCO and believes that its future lies with TIBCO.

"The speed of our development and the robustness of our solutions is going to be key to HSC’s future. The TIBCO Connected Intelligence platform is really going to help us," Carey said. "Our decision to partner with TIBCO has been validated time and again; we picked the right tool and the right company for our culture. We’re looking forward to what we do in the future, especially with our integration in the next phase of our all-in with TIBCO plan."